Skip to content

Maternity sewing

May 20, 2007

I need your help. I’m going to try to make my daughter some maternity clothes. Sounds simple enough by itself.

Much of what she tried on today was either way too small – are all pregnant women these days petite or size 0? – or even with the little tummy pad they have in the changing room shows there will nto be enough room in the tummy when she gets into her last trimester. We got her a few things for the immediate need, however it seems insane to pay exorbitant prices for something they’ll wear only four or five months.

I’d also like to try making her a maternity bathing suit as she’s going to be going through the hot summer months with this pregnancy.

Where I’d like your help is suggestions or recommendations for patterns. If you’ve sewn maternity clothes, which patterns do you find the best? Are there even any maternity swimsuit patterns?

One of my readers also already suggested going to the thrift store for maternity pants that have the gusset still in good condition, tear it out and reuse it. She prefers the pants that have the wide, even band of knit around the top of the pant, not the semi-circle gusset. Maybe we can find some of those at the thrift store as well, but I wouldn’t mind just buying her new panels to insert.

Any advice you have will be most welcome.

8 Comments
  1. May 20, 2007 11:01 pm

    Here in our place there’s a stall in the mall that’s intended for pregnant women as well as women in plus sizes. Recently, the more popular maternity dress designs are those that have fancy trimmings above the breast portion that range from shimmering heart patches to lacey add-ons that outline the still-sexy figure of the pregnant mom. Regarding maternity bathing suit I think I missed to check out that item in their list. But I do hope that they have that for sale. So far, I suggest that you check out maternity online merchants. I’m sure they have the things you’re looking for.

  2. May 21, 2007 4:54 am

    Sorry, can’t help you Claire. My sister had the opposite problem – finding maternity clothes in which she wasn’t swimming.
    Jalie has a pattern for a maternity swimming suit. 2317, I believe.

  3. Jessica permalink
    May 22, 2007 4:29 am

    Can’t help in the sewing dept yet, (I’m just now starting with skirts!) BUT…my friend swears by the maternity clothes at Target. Seriously….lots of good basic stuff, and it is not frumpy. My friend is a fashionista, so i was prepared for her to say she got all her maternity clothes at Nordies…but no, Target!
    ~Jessica

  4. Amy permalink
    May 22, 2007 11:59 am

    Please, don’t use any of Simplicity’s maternity patterns. With each of my pregnancies I tried to make several outfits from their collection. What an incredible waste of time. At nine months they were still big. I did have great success with Burda’s and Vogue’s line of maternity clothes. Burda offered up-to-date casual clothes and Vogue had wonderful dressy/church clothes.

  5. Amy permalink
    May 22, 2007 12:09 pm

    Sorry, I forgot to add this info.

    All of the pattern companies state that you should make your regular, pre-pregnancy size. I do not know what size your daughter is, but I do know that I was already a size 20 (in patterns) when I started my pregnancy. I hope that helps you some.

  6. May 22, 2007 5:47 pm

    Thanks, Ladies. I’ll let you know what we end up with. :)

  7. May 23, 2007 4:24 pm

    i never did figure out the sizing on maternity patterns. i made a few things, but this was 13 years ago. also, i was a freakish size/shape when pregnant. i started out as a size 0, but, at the end, dh’s XL shirts were too small. it was all in the belly, right out front, couldn’t tell i was pregnant from behind. nothing fit really well. and all those things that i thought looked *enormous* at first, were too small by the 8th month. my suggestion is to find a pattern that has a few pieces, figure out the sizing, then just do lots of different colors and prints from that pattern.
    i second the recommendation for target maternity wear. all of my pregnant friends rave about target stuff.

  8. mary permalink
    May 30, 2007 5:25 pm

    I converted jeans by cutting out front and putting a tshirt knit front in it. putting elastic at the front waist. (leave room for growth”

    there is also a conversion for tops. add length and width to the front of the shirt. I believe it was done by slash and move.

    There my be directions on line .. try google.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

