Skip to content

I’m not a nurse.

December 28, 2006

My employer is closed this week and I had planned to spend the week sewing. Noble idea. Life got in the way.

We didn’t have a Christmas. I got sick but that’s nothing compared to my daughter’s week. She’s had two surgeries in less than a week, and two visits to the ER.

Her first surgery on December 20th was planned. She felt better after a couple days, then had this severe stomach pain. Called an ambulance and she was taken to the ER. They gave her diloutin and told her she had excess gas in her abdomen from the surgery and sent her home early Saturday morning. Immediately she started vomiting and didn’t stop for at least 24 hours. Thinking this was the stomach flu contracted from my granddaughter when she was visiting, we thought the sore stomach was just bruised tummy muscles. But boy, I have never seen such violent stomach flu as she suffered. She spent Christmas day sleeping fitfully and taking Percoset for pain that never ceased. I napped and did mundane light house chores.

No turkey, no family, no holiday for us.

Christmas night, she finally got out of bed and was pacing her room when we noticed it. A grapefruit-sized bulge abover her navel. Called the doctor, and off to the ER we go again.

Arrived there at 9 pm. At 10, she’s taken to an ER bed, gets an x-ray, then a CT scan. By 3 am December 26, she’s admitted to the hospital with an “incarcerated hernia”. Essentially her stomach muscles were weakened from her gastric bypass in 2002 and the violence off the vomiting and retching tore it open and her intestines herniated plus were strangulated. Surgery was performed at 6:30 am. Thankfully, no intestines needed to be removed, just all put back in their normal place. Now she has another scar to add to the ribbons of scarring on her tummy.

I’m not a nurse. I sometimes even wonder about my ability to be a good mom. I chanted to her -this will pass, it will get better, take a deep breath. What the hell do I know.

I’m glad she’s coming home tomorrow.

2 Comments
  1. May 27, 2009 1:31 pm

    Good stuff, I “Stumbled” you. My DIGG account got messed up but I like Stumbling better anyway.

Trackbacks

  1. Here We Go Again - Maybe. « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

