Skip to content

My Sewing Room

December 31, 2006

Okay, since I haven’t felt up to sewing, even though I thought I would earlier, I cleaned my sewing room instead. I didn’t realize how much sleep I needed to catch up on after my daughters – and my – illnesses. I forgot when caring for her that I had been very sick the week prior and essentially hadn’t had a good night sleep in two weeks. So over the last three days that’s about all I’ve been doing.

Until today.

Today I decided I’d clean up my sewing room and get stuff put away so that I could then get it all out again and sew. I figured just putzing around in the room would make me feel better and more like doing something. I’m just not looking forward to rethreading that serger from pink to brown or blue thread. Ugh. My next serger will thread automatically and not have to be manually switched to go from a four-stitch serge to a rolled hem.

So, here’s my sewing room.  It’s really a loft or bonus room at the top of the stairs and I love it. It has a large window that looks out to the greenbelt (natural growth protected area) and another large window in the stairwell, so it gets a lot of natural light during the daytime. It’s perfect for me. Plus, I feel more like I’m in the center of the house than if I chose one of my front bedrooms for my sewing room.

Sewing loft view 2

My cutting table is nothing special. Just one of those cardboard cutting mats spread out on a dining table and then my blue rotary cutting mat on top of that. If you haven’t tried cutting fabric with rotary cutters, give it a try. I wish I had known about them years earlier than I did. Now I will never go back to just scissors.

Cutting Table

And here’s most of my sewing stash – which looks very measley compared to some people’s stash I’ve seen online.

Sewing Stash

It may not be much, but it’s all mine. And when I am in my sewing room, even if I’m sitting there just watching tv, I’m happy and contented. I need as much of that as possible in my life these days.

I hope tomorrow I can finish a top I started, or cut out another one.

2 Comments
  1. May 17, 2009 1:03 am

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Trackbacks

  1. Sewing Room Dreams « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

