Skip to content

What’s my accent?

December 31, 2006

Silly quiz I found online. It seems accurate but I also interpret this to say that I really don’t have an accent. My father sent me to speech classes as a teenager and the idea was to really have no accent at all. He would point out that professional actors or reporters strove to have no accent. (He was an announcer in the Armed Services Radio in Kokura, Japan in the late ’40s.) Although, when I lived in England, I took speech classes there and was graded on my English accent. I got high marks with “distinction”. How funny is that? Hmmm. “Betty bought a bit of butter, but she found the butter bitter…” Imagine that with an English accent. LOL.

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The West

Your accent is the lowest common denominator of American speech. Unless you’re a SoCal surfer, no one thinks you have an accent. And really, you may not even be from the West at all, you could easily be from Florida or one of those big Southern cities like Dallas or Atlanta.

Comments are closed.

