Skip to content

It’s a new day.

January 1, 2007

So, to make the outside appearance socially acceptable: Happy New Year to all my friends, family, and acquaintances. Inside, I still feel like Scrooge: Bah-humbug.

It’s been a depressing few months, and especially depressing holiday season and I’m frankly tired of people thinking I should be happy, joyous, and free. Yes, I know, I have much to be grateful for, and after reading Georgeous Things’ blog, my year could have been worse. But it’s all relative, you know? It’s been hard for me, and very, very lonely.

But I will get out of this funk. I always do.

Meanwhile, I’ll focus on the things I want to accomplish in the short term:

Sew up most, if not all, of the pretty fabrics I have in my stash into well-fitting garments for myself.

Sew up the home dec fabrics I bought into curtains – especially the pretty Hawaiian fabric I chose in Maui for my family room drapes. (Click the thumbnail for a full-sized view.)

Hawaiian Curtain Fabric

Get out of the house more if only to walk and get exercise. Try to meet new people and find things to do that don’t cost money.

Heal my back and take the money I’m spending on doctors, chiropractors, and physical therapy and invest it in a membership to a pool and weight-loss program so I can feel good about my body.

Work hard at not buying junk stuff and cluttering up my home with unnecessary items.

Finish the painting of all rooms in my house, whether I do it myself or hire someone.

Save money to recarpet the whole house in a high-traffic-friendly color.

Work in my garden and continue to stop and smell the roses.

Enjoy life. Smile. Take it easy. One day at a time.

Happy Monday.

Comments are closed.

