Skip to content

Back in the groove – almost

January 2, 2007

Today was my first day back at work in two weeks (not counting the half day just prior to Christmas.) The week before Christmas I was dog sick with the flu, then our company closed during the week between Christmas and New Years. I already mentioned the hell I went through that week alongside my daughter’s hell.

But time cures everything. My daughter is healing as fast as her body will let her. Tomorrow she goes to the doctor for a follow up visit and hopefully all twenty-seven staples will get removed. She’s even joking that she will get a zipper tattooed across her tummy scars.

I’m gradually coming out of my funk too – exhibited by the fact that I actually did a little bit of sewing yesterday. I’m finishing up a top I started cutting out about a month ago. The blue scoop necked one below. I’ll post a picture of the fabric later.

Simplicity 4076 

I’ve made this top before and I really like it, but I have issues with the neckline at the back of my neck gaping. Some input from the gals over at Stitcher’s Guild advised me that possibly I was cutting out a size too large, and that possibly the neckline was a bit too long.

So, I cut the back out a size smaller across the shoulders and above the waist than I had in the past, but grading out to larger sizes across the hip. The extra fluff on my hips is mostly in the back, so this makes sense to me to do the grading on the back piece only. We’ll see how that works.

The other adjustment I’m trying is that I’m making the neckband a bit wider than the pattern calls for in an attempt to copy this Hot Patterns top that my sewing idol, Gigi Louis, (scroll to the bottom) did such a fabulous job of. I just can’t break down yet and pay over $10 for a pattern. The neckband won’t be quite as wide, but about 3/4″ to 1″ wide, I think.

Then I tried adding the neckband following this process by Sarah Veblen (click here for the video tip). Apparently I was still tired because when it came to stitching the ends of the neckband together, I had it all twisted up. So, out came the seam ripper and I decided that was enough for the day. Baby steps and all.

Life is okay today.

Comments are closed.

