Skip to content

I did the triple Lutz today!

January 11, 2007

As in hitting an unexpected ice patch with my SUV at a too-fast speed and spinning a few doughnuts down the icy hill, and then coming to rest on the opposite side of the street closer than nose to nose with a Nissan pickup.

I’m fine, just shook up. My back is stiffening up and my elbows hurt. More damage to the other car than to mine. Thank goodness the fire department was already there at the bottom of the hill. They came right over to check us out. At least I wasn’t the Mercedes who hit the same ice patch earlier and ended up off the side of the road in down a hill almost into a rainwater runoff reservior. It could have been worse. Now I get to pay the $500 deductible and more visits to the chiropractor and physical therapist.

And to think, I stayed home and worked from home just so I wouldn’t be out driving in this nasty weather. It looked better out and I thought I’d be able to make it to my PT appointment. I should have taken my own advice and stayed put.

2 Comments
  1. January 12, 2007 10:37 pm

    Claire – nice to meet you. I work in Thrasher’s Corner. Would love to have you attend one of our local ASG neighborhood group meetings. I read through your blog – hope you are okay after your run-in with the ice. I totally hear what you’re saying about Seattle drivers and weather. Stupid!!

    As for getting to be last, when I started WW 4 years ago, I decided that it was finally time to put myself first. It took me 3+ years to lose 95#, but I did it. A year later, I find myself backsliding and putting everyone else first again. My motto – You can’t give from empty. Take care of you – g

  2. January 13, 2007 10:00 am

    Hi Gaylen. Thanks for commenting! I sent you a PM. Hope to meet you soon and attend your ASG meeting. That would be so fun. Congrats on the weight loss. That is so inspiring to me.

Comments are closed.

