Skip to content

Finished Simplicity 4076

January 13, 2007

Finally. Phew. Slow going for such a simple top. But there were extenuating circumstances (family illness, car accident, flu, etc.) that slowed my progress. I cut this top out weeks ago but finally finished it today while watching the Playoff football games on TV.

Here’s a picture of it on Rosie, my dressform.

Finished Simplicity 4076

I love this fabric. It’s a lovely stretch knit that has almost a burnout velvet feel to it, but it’s not. I also like how the pattern goes somewhat diagonally, as I think that is flattering. I think I got this fabric from a local independent store (Discount Fabrics in Lynnwood, Wa) that is going out of business. It was cheap in price, but a very nice quality knit. Now I wish I had more of it.

I altered the pattern of this to make the back neckline smaller than the previous version I did. I also followed a tip on how to properly fit the neckband and it seems to have worked nicely. On Rosie, it lays nicely.

Neckline S4076

As soon as I can, I’ll get my daughter to take a picture of me in it but when I tried it on earlier, it fit nicely on the neck too.

This shows what the same top looked like last time I made it and the gaping neckline.

S4076 Gaping Neck

Some things I’ll do differently next time I make this top:

Until I lose some weight, I’ll make the waist a bit larger. Plus, I’ve got the bubblebutt thing going on, so I still have to accomodate for that. Some of that is weight, but some is also spine. (That’s not an excuse! I’ve seen the MRIs! LOL My lower spine turns out almost horizontally.) I also didn’t do a full-bust adjustment (FBA), and I guess I have to shake my denial and do that from now on – again, until I lose weight. Ugh.

Also, somehow the armhole seam is a tad snug. This might be fixed by doing the FBA I just mentioned. I added the sleeves by sewing the side seams first, and then setting in the sleeves. Next time I’m going to try sewing on the sleeve along the sleeve cap, and then sewing the side seam and sleeve seam in one shot. I’ve heard of that process before but not sure how it will work. I’m all for experimenting when it comes to sewing.

Anyhooo. It’s done. Next, I think I’ll work on this top I wrote about earlier.

McCall 5235

4 Comments
  1. January 13, 2007 9:44 pm

    Love that top Claire, and I agree … the fabric is wonderful.

  2. January 13, 2007 9:49 pm

    Wow Claire that fabric is great. I may have to make a run to that fabric store tomorrow – now that I have a back-up machine 🙂 g

  3. January 14, 2007 7:55 am

    Thanks Debbie and Gaylen – and Debbie, I’m so happy you visited my blog. That fabric store is great – well, some fabrics look like holdouts from the eighties, but great for muslins. I talked to the owner last time I was there and it was the overhead that was causing him to close shop. I encouraged him to sell online and he was looking at doing that. We’ll see. Gaylen – definitely check it out. Wait till you see the silks and crepe satins and even brocades. Cheap price, great quality – at least I think so.

  4. January 24, 2007 8:11 am

    Das Top sieht genial aus und der Stoff dazu perfekt.
    LG
    Claudia

Comments are closed.

