Skip to content

For the love of… shoes?

January 20, 2007

Okay, so I have to ‘fess up. I’ve never been a shoe lover. And yes, I’m female. Sounds abnormal, right? Not for me. Along with food (another topic for another day), shoes to me were always a necessary evil. I’d rather go barefoot. I have always had extremely wide feet and, as a preteen, even had to have my shoes made for me and I haven’t fully put to rest the ridicule I endured from a brother about the width of my feet. Think “duck flappers”. Once they measured my feet as a triple E. If there was such a thing as foot surgery to make your feet narrower, I’d knock you down to get there first. Usually shoes that fit my feet look like old lady shoes or shoes the school lunch marms would wear. Ewww.

But now I’ve found a few brands that I can occasionally fit into and my love of cute, classic, sexy shoes is growing. I’m even more encouraged by the styles I see lately, which are a bit sturdier in the heel and have more of a rounded toe.

So, let me show you the ones I added to my wish list. I walked through Nordstroms the other day on my way to get some makeup and these called from across the room to me. Click on the pictures for a closeup view.

First the Linea Paolo shoes. Ooooh baby. I have so many fabrics in my collection right now that would go with these so nicely. These are called La Rue. One of my girlfriends suggested some nice black and white pinstriped pants with these. Maybe with a crisp white shirt too.

Paolo LaRue

Another pair of Linea Paolo called Babe. I can see these with a nice flirty black or red skirt.

Paolo Babe

I really need some nice dressier shoes so that I can look a bit more professional at work and wear more skirts – always more flattering on me than pants.

These are a strong contender to come home with me someday. These are by Circa Joan & David and are called Lucille. They look great for spring.

Circa Joan & David Lucille

I could easily spend a fortune on shoes. I see how addicting they are – much like fabric, eh? Since I can’t fit into most of the gorgeous shoes, maybe having a wide foot is a blessing in disguise.

3 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    January 21, 2007 7:20 am

    I ruined my feet in high school by wearing lots of shoes – high heels!, -I was trying to squeeze into a 7 1/2 when I wore at least an 8. Vanity, bah. Anyhoo, my high arches and long toes make it very difficult to find shoes that don’t hurt and I refuse to compromise for the sake of fashion! Yep, we’ve both saved lots of money over the years and I know what you mean. I’d love to have lots of purty shoes but no pointy toed ones for me, either! I love love love that 1st one you posted.

  2. Cil permalink
    February 9, 2007 11:16 am

    OMG OMG OMG..
    THOSE SHOES ARE SOO SOO CUT EI LOVE EM!!

Trackbacks

  1. Ohmygodohmygodohmygod! «

Comments are closed.

