Skip to content

No sewing today

January 23, 2007

Unless seeds of resentment count. Trying not to give them any fertilizer either.

I don’t even remember what I did at work yesterday. It was all obliterated by having to deal with an overgrown high school backstabbing drama queen today at work. For some reason this young woman went from being my ally to being my adversary and I don’t even know what I did to tick her off. I do know I don’t like her much (mostly because she has atrocious writing skills and I’m an editor, and that makes my teeth hurt) but I have to work with her so I set that aside and do my job. But it has gotten to the point where she refuses to talk to me in person, preferring “email and documentation”, and is now talking smack behind my back, even to HR. Great.

A good friend today told me the only way to get out of the game is to quit playing it.

I’m taking my toys and going to play in a different sandbox. I only play with nice children.

On a different note, I have a really good physical therapist and I am grateful for that. This woman is awesome. Not only does she teach me strengthening exercises but she gives me great food for thought and things to do to improve more than just my body, but my mind and soul too.

This made me laugh: Today, she gave me a new exercise to do – partial situps. I mentioned that I used to be able to do them really well when I was 16. Then I cracked up after doing the math on how long ago that was. Uh…after (cough cough) years, it’s not so easy!

She has also asked me to make her a futon cover. Isn’t that interesting? She comes in my life and teaches me things I need to know, and I come into her life to help her with sewing that she can’t do. Funny how those things work out.

She said she’d pay me, but today driving home, I thought, no, I can’t charge her. I’m gaining so much  more from this than just the physical rehabilitation. It will be my thank you gift to her.

I hope to start on the futon cover this weekend – along with something for me. Me first, me first. Gawd, that sounds so selfish. That mantra was wiped from my personality at a very, very young age. But some self-care is essential.

Anyway, tomorrow is a new day and I get to try again.

Comments are closed.

