Skip to content

Why I love sewing more than cooking

January 29, 2007

On one of the blogs I visit frequently, someone asked what it was that we loved about sewing. So, here’s my take on it.

  • I like the precision of stitching seams just so, making them nice and smooth and flat
  • I love pressing fabric between each step for smoothness
  • I like imaging what the garment will look like on me or whoever I’m sewing for
  • I like matching fabrics and colors for a coordinated outfit
  • I like taking something abstract like flat pieces of material and turning it into something else
  • I like the peace and serenity that accompanies me in the solitude of sewing
  • I like sharing with other seamstresses the joy, anticipation, and pride that goes with sewing
  • I like bragging to my family and friends that I made what I’m wearing
  • I like how it feels when my mother thinks I bought the top I made and how she brags to her friends when I make something for her to wear
  • I like that my mom feels as if she has her very own personal dressmaker (which is my way of giving back to my mother for everything she’s given me in life)
  • I like that my granddaughter wants to copy me and sew as well
  • I like that I don’t have to be perfect with my work and that my skills are in a constant state of improvement
  • I like that I don’t feel as if I have to be the next Claire McCardell (Who you might ask? ‘S okay. I didn’t know who she was either until a Sewing Diva explained it here.)
  • I like that I can make something for so much less than buying in a store, and it’s typically better made (at least at the stores where I can afford to shop)
  • I like that I am somewhat talented at sewing

What does this have to do with cooking? I can’t cook for beans. I admire people who can, just as they admire me for being able to sew. I can’t look in a cupboard full of raw materials and imagine a full meal. But I can look at a row of fabric bolts and notions and imagine a full wardrobe.

 And sewing has no calories.

Comments are closed.

