Skip to content

New Sewing Books

February 4, 2007

Finally, I got a chance to get some sewing books. I’ve always postponed the purchases thinking I could get enough information online. There’s excellent information on the internet, but nothing replaces a book – for me, anyway.

I used a Joann’s 50% off coupon and got this one:

Pants for real people book cover

I’ve already browsed through it and there’s some excellent information in it. I hope to finally figure out the challenges with fitting pants for myself, then off I’ll go and make several.

Then I used my Joann’s 40% off coupon for this one:

Fast Fit Book Cover

Next I went across the highway to Half Price Books looking for Fit for Real People but they didn’t have it. Instead I walked away with these two for less than $15.

Sewing Shortcuts Book CoverTimeSaving Tips Book Cover

I actually see a lot of stuff in the first two books that will really help me with improving the fit of the clothes I make. I really want to take my skills to the next level. In time.

2 Comments
  1. Bev permalink
    February 5, 2007 3:29 pm

    Yay to good sewing books! I have several of the fitting ones
    and I read and read and……I yam still confused! Sigh. I keep plugging away because hopefully one day it will all sink in!

    I think I got Fit for Real People from Amazon after giving up on JoAnn’s to carry it. You should probably also get the Fabric Savvy book – that’s helped me a lot as well.

  2. dbaron permalink
    February 6, 2007 10:14 pm

    I’ve done alterations for several years, and I really like the book Pants for Any Body. It’s pretty old, but really good. You can get it used on Amazon for a couple dollars. Claire Shaeffer is really good. Her book Couture Sewing Techniques is also good. She has done a lot of research in the couture industry. Good luck on your sewing adventures!

Comments are closed.

