Skip to content

Doggie Doll Dresses

February 12, 2007

What’s better than making doll clothes? Making them for a puppy.

Trixie V-day dressTrixie dress 2

Cuz then the clothes take on a life of their own.  

My daughter and I bought the heart fabric the other day, and today I walked over to the local Hancock’s near my work and bought more stuff. All in pink of course. I found the contrasting puppy fabric and lots of pink ribbons and yummy stuff to make more little things. Oh and found lightweight pink velour poly lycra on sale for $1.89 a yard. Had to get me some of that.

Came home tonight and stitched up this cute little outfit for Trixie for her Valentine’s trip to my daughter’s veterinary school. Some of my friends say making little things like this is so frustrating and fiddly. It really wasn’t too hard. And because it’s for a puppy, it doesn’t have to be perfect.

The collar, the skirt and the overskirt are all two sided. I used a white and silver lace for the trim, and added some pink velvet across the back to make a waistband. I used snaps for the fastners at my daughter’s request. My choice would have been velcro, but only because I hate the snap maker I have.

Trixie dress 3

I pleated the overskirts instead of gathering them because of the many layers of fabric. I didn’t want to mess with the gathering and actually I rather like the pleats.

Trixie 6

I cut out two versions of this dress for Trixie. This one has the heart fabric as the dominant pattern. The other dress will have the doggie print as the dominant fabric. I ran out of lace trim, so I may do something else for the edging on the second one.

Here are some more pictures of Trixie’s dress. Remember to click on them thumbnail for a full-size view. She’s so friggin adorable in this dress.

Trixie 5

trixievdress.jpg

Trixie and Stacy

7 Comments
  1. February 13, 2007 4:48 am

    Doggone adorable!!

  2. February 13, 2007 7:39 am

    Claire – that’s too freakin’ cute! I wish I had a dog I could sew for. Where did you find the pink dog print? I need some. g

  3. February 13, 2007 7:56 am

    Gaylen, I found the dog print at my local Hancock’s. I can pick some up for you if you want. I think it was 30% off (reg $5.99, I think) since it was a Valentine doggie print. There are little hearts on it.

    Thanks, Debbie. I highly recommend making these little projects from time to time. Instant gratification – almost.

  4. June 30, 2007 11:42 am

    Hello,

    Cute dog, and her dress is adorable.

    I’m enjoying your site. I have been sewing for my Maltese/Poodle dog too. She has around 30 dresses.

    She wears them all. Thought I’d share. BTW, I live near Port Townsend, Wa.

    Patricia

  5. October 13, 2007 11:36 am

    Way too cute, I love it! Trixie looks divine in that dress. And she looks a lot my dog Stella. That pattern would also look tre chic in black with pearls, as a cocktail dress.

  6. October 13, 2007 8:27 pm

    LWB: I noticed your Stella and thought she looked like Trixie. I’ll have to post ones of Trixie now. They could pass as sisters.

  7. February 2, 2009 12:45 pm

    Hello,

    your Trixie is adorable and the dress that you made for her is super cute

    I have two maltese who I love to dress up to. I no nothing about sewing (I always buy dog dresses from the pet stores) I just hope that one day I can be as good as you are in sewing dog dresses.

    I hope that there is an instruction that help you learn how to sew little dog dresses – do you know of any site?

    regards,

    Kat

Comments are closed.

