Skip to content

Not for the faint of heart

February 26, 2007

Today I had my first spinal cortisone shot, and this picture was my souvenir. I guess since I never had pics of my babies like preggo moms get these days, it’s a nice consolation gift. This image shows the L2 and L3 vertebrae and the black spot to the right is the needle going in with the medicine.

Back Xray

The procedure took only about twenty minutes or so and I had to wait in the lobby for about 10 minutes afterward to make sure I had no ill side effects. As she put the needle in my back and added the lidocaine (numbing agent) she asked if I felt anything, or if I was just stoic. Uh, yes ma’am. I’m stoic. (Seriously, I thought to myself, I put up with this back pain for four years without much complaining. I guess that makes me stoic.)

This doctor rocks. If you ever need a spine doctor and live near Seattle, email me and I’ll give you her name. She comes highly recommended by my chiropractor and my physical therapist, so I felt  – no, I knew – that I was in good hands.

We are hoping that this medicine will relieve some of the pain so my physical therapy will progress faster and I can get as well as possible. I’ll be happy if I can walk without pain shooting up my back, if I can sew for extended periods of time and not have an aching back later, and if working in the garden doesn’t cripple me for the next four days.

Right now, I’m just feeling achy in all the usual spots, but I’m hopeful. I’ll keep you posted!

Comments are closed.

