Skip to content

What’s up for the weekend?

March 2, 2007

For a start, sleeping in – if I can. We have these sweet little furballs that operate with more regularity than an alarm clock. Every morning at 5:00 a.m., Merlin (the only boy cat) decides that it’s time for me to get up and go to work. He has no clue that it snowed outside and I get to sleep in, or that it might actually be Saturday or Sunday. Nope. Clawing at the foot of the bed, walking around my head, doing whatever he can to wake me up. And if he’s unsuccessful, there are three other kitties that will wake me up.

In no particular order… 

Project one: a futon cover. I’ve been commissioned to sew up one for a friend out of some lovely Hawaiin fabric she had, and the design calls for zippers. I have to admit, I’ve been procrastinating on this, but I’ve promised to get it started this week. The zippers are the part I’m not looking forward to.

Project two: clothes for me. I don’t really care what they are at this point, I just need something new. Something to make me feel more attractive and put together. I wandered around the mall tonight after work looking to see what the stores offered.  I was overwhelmed with the color choices, and of course, experienced the predictable amazement at $100 skirts that are exactly the same pattern as some I made last summer for myself for under $20. First, however, I need to decide what color scheme I want to go with, so I’ll probably spend some time tomorrow morning planning out different coordinated items. Oh, right, people call that SWAP – sewing with a plan. I guess more than even if I don’t get anything cut out or sewn for myself, I need to figure out what I need to make versus buy. For example, I need shoes, but how can I pick out shoes if I don’t know what kind of skirts I need them to accessorize?

Project three: make some quick business cards with my blog name and phone number on them to hand out at the doggie fashion show tomorrow afternoon. This was Gaylen’s idea. She’s so smart. She says people are going to be so amazed at the little dress I made Trixie for the fashion show that they’ll want me to commission something for their little four-legged puppy.

More later. Happy sewing.

Oh, and the snow is melting. Thank God. I was going stir crazy.

Comments are closed.

