Skip to content

I’m not a virgin any more…

March 5, 2007

I just thought you should know. (Thanks, Poe, for the lyrics and ear worm.)

Seriously. Yesterday was my first visit to the Sewing and Stitchery Expo in Puyallup, Washington, and some lady there referred to me as such. I’ve wanted to go for years, and finally I made it. Gaylen and I drove down yesterday morning, and she worked on the man sweater while I drove. (Ask her about her green fingers.) We had a great time. Gaylen knows friggin everyone there. Vendors, other ASG members, the hot dog guy (no, just kidding on the last one.) We had a great time.

My mother asked me how much I spent. Ha! Clearly she doesn’t understand. It’s not about the money, honey, it’s about the stuff. I don’t need to explain it to you other sewing enthusiasts, afficionados, addicts (pick your own label). Anyway, I completely ignored the question because, after all, I am an adult haven’t had to justify my purchases to my mother in <cough> thirty years <cough> – or to anyone for that matter.

But I did tell her what I got.

First up, a lovely trim for this white material that I’m going to turn into a v-necked top of some sort for summer. I hope you can see the details in the white fabric. It has little leaves that look embossed or raised. Very springy and delicate.

White and Black 

The trim was very unique – I’d never seen it before. The guy who sold it to me did the weirdest thing for measuring it. I asked for three yards and he did the hand-to-nose measuring with arm extended. Uh, you’re a vendor and you can’t afford a yardstick? Good grief. We measured it later and he shorted me 1/8 to 1/4 yard with that little trick. Smart move, mister. Over the four days if you short people 1/8 yard with each purchase you make a nice little profit, I’m sure.

Sorry. I digress. Resentment not yet laid to rest. And y’all know that cheating on fabric sales should be illegal – like giving you a crooked cut. Yikes.

Next I found this beautiful stretch jersey knit. Love, love, love the color and the swirls. My eye was drawn to everything with swirls in it. This will make either a lovely twist top and matching skirt or maybe a wrap dress. I haven’t quite decided yet. The brown is a very soft muted mocha color, and the fabric is soft and has an excellent weight to it for summer.

Brown and white swirls

Next, I got more white fabrics. Hmmm. Spotting a theme here? (Other than the fact that they are extremely difficult to photograph.)

First this gathered look fabric…

White Gathered Fabric

would look lovely made up into something like this:

V8326

Then I found this cotton handmade lace look (95% cotton / 5% nylon)…

White See-thru

which I hope to make into something like this…

S3831

And finally, there’s this interesting reversible knit with two of my favorite spring colors: aqua and white.Blue/White Reversible Knit

I plan on making a cardigan using the scalloped selvedge somehow, and the reverse (striped) side as a border somehow. You’ll see. I might even have enough for the tank to go under the cardigan. This fabric is already in the washer getting prewashed so hopefully I can have it cut out and sewn for my neighborhood ASG meeting this Saturday.

Happy Monday.

3 Comments
  1. March 5, 2007 11:47 pm

    Oh wow! Your purchases are fantastic. What a great spring wardrobe you are going to make now. All that white – so fresh! 🙂

  2. March 6, 2007 5:48 am

    That “Some Woman” was Nancy Cornwell – of Polar Fleece fame! I’m sure most of you know her name even if you don’t sew polar fleece. She is a loverly lady. I also know Jeanine Twigg – but I did my best and introduced Claire to everyone I knew who was worth knowing 🙂 g

    PS – my expo post is coming today 🙂 Got pictures taken already!!!

  3. March 6, 2007 8:43 am

    Yes, Gaylen was great about introducing me to everyone, but I was on “sensory overload”. Hard to remember the names, but now I remember the lady. She was really nice. They all were!

Comments are closed.

