Skip to content

Spring Pattern Binging

March 9, 2007

And no purging here either. I fell off the wagon of not buying any more patterns before sewing up the ones I have already. I hit the Butterick and McCall’s sale at Hancocks during my lunch hour today. Some others have posted on their blogs what they chose, so I’ll do the same.

Let’s look at the Butterick patterns I chose. Many of them have similarities, but I like them anyway. And there was no limit to how many Butterick you could purchase. I took that as permission to gorge on patterns.

  1. Butterick 4978 – I chose this because the skirt is cut on the bias – usually an attractive choice for those of us who have generous hips. I have some lovely chiffon that I might use for this. S4978
  2. Butterick 4914 – This has a mock wrap top, and a ruched waistband. I’m not sure how this will work on me, and I might shorten the amount of ruching around the waist, but I think it will be flattering with the right fabric.B4914
  3. Butterick 4657 – Hmmm, do you see a trend forming here? I guess I am in love with Maggy London styles. Anyhoo. I like view B (the longer white one) in this pattern.B4657
  4. Butterick 4984 – I’m not sure how this will work on my body type at all, but it looks comfortable for summer, and I’ll probably end up making some design changes to it so it’s not such a straight tank style (maybe fisheye darts or something.) I’ll likely forgo the version with the empire drawstring as that just screams maternity.B4984
  5. Butterick 4788 – Yup. Another Maggie London. Another mock wrap dress. Just love ’em.
    B4788
  6. Butterick 4931 – I bought this one for my mother. She wears these vests all the time, even in the summer. She’s on a blood thinner so that makes her colder than the rest of us. She told me she wants a pink furry vest, and I saw a really neat pink fake mink fur at Sewing Expo last Sunday. Eventually, I’ll get that and sew it up for her.
    B4931

Now there’s one Butterick I missed – Butterick 4976 – Dunno how I missed it because I must have bought every other mock wrap dress in the drawer. I missed it probably because I didn’t write down the number before going to the store. Another excuse to go back and get it.

B4976

Now for the McCall’s.

  1. McCalls 5329 – I have a sneaky suspicion I might already have this one, but it’s also probably likely that I’ve craved it long enough that I think I already own it.

    M5329

  2. McCall’s 5233 – I’m a bit unsure about this one as well, but for 99 cents, I’m not losing anything if I don’t like it.

    M5233

  3. McCalls 5317 – Nice summery dress. Not a full mock wrap, but has a hint of one.

    M5317

  4. And finally, McCalls 5342 – Not apparel at all. I got this only because the chairs in the main picture are the exact chairs on my patio. Yes, sure, making cushions is simple math, but what the heck. For 99 cents, I deserve some shortcuts.

    M5342

 Now that I’ve bought all these patterns, and the fabric I bought last weekend (and the fabric I got today and haven’t yet shown you), can you guess what I’ll be doing this weekend? No, you can’t so I’ll tell you. I have to make that darned futon cover.

3 Comments
  1. March 9, 2007 11:54 pm

    99 cents!! So for the same price, I can buy one Butterick or McCall’s pattern here, while you can buy 11?! 😮
    Life can be so unfair sometimes.
    Frankly, how could you feel bad at buying such cheap patterns. It’s not as if they cost $10 each, right? 🙂 A wise investment IMO. 🙂

    Great choices. You are going to be one classy lady this spring and summer. Can’t wait to see you work on all this.
    Good luck with that futon cover!

  2. March 10, 2007 8:05 am

    No, no, they were 99 cents EACH. 🙂

  3. March 10, 2007 3:13 pm

    I really like all those dresses. I have to get to the store to see what catches my eye. I can’t wait to see them made up! Isabelle, I can always pick some up for you at the sales and send them over to you.

Comments are closed.

