Skip to content

Cutting fest

March 11, 2007

Cutting Fest

It’s been a productive afternoon. Does that look like a futon cover? Nope. It’s not. Here’s why.

I spent a good deal of time this afternoon evaluating the cover that I was to use as a pattern, measuring, calculating, and then estimating the fabric given to me to use, and clearly the client does not have enough fabric for a futon cover. She’s short by at least four yards. Not to mention that her yardage is only 44 inches wide, and the futon cover requires a fabric about 60 inches wide. Additionally, there’s a floral motif to her fabric that would require extra yardage to match and not look homemade. Sure I could sugest a contrast fabric, but my conclusion is this: I just don’t want to make this futon cover.

Remember this post I wrote in January? I was talking about how I always put myself last and vowed to change that. Well, it was shortly after that when I agreed to make the futon cover – for the very person who suggested I remember to put myself first.

I need to walk my talk. Here I am, unable to go barely a week without repeating an outfit, with a room full of patterns and fabric for myself, and I’m working on making a futon cover (or doggie clothes, or onesies for not-yet-born babies).

<Smack me upside the head and call me late to the party.>

So, I put the futon stuff away (and will take a deep breath, tell the client I won’t make her the cover, but later – after I’m done sewing a complete wardrobe for myself – would consider making her throw cushions) and got out my tried and true patterns from Simplicity 4076. I cut out a scoop neck version in the pink hibiscus knit I just got from the Hancock’s $1.99 table, and a twist top version in a blue crushed velour (with cap sleeves). I have another fabric in the wash, which will then be cut out to another nice spring top (same pattern), and I’ve got a nice soft pink velour still to cut out.

More soon, but the back calling out for some cold ice pack therapy.

2 Comments
  1. March 12, 2007 9:56 am

    Good gracious – four yards short?? By all means, clear that futon cover out of your conscience. Sewing is our joy – it should never become a chore. Otherwise, I believe we kill something essential within ourselves.

    A month ago, I had to make a similar decision. If you feel so inclinee, you can read about it here; basically, it is the same kind of realization than you just made.
    Since I took that decision, with my friends’ blessing, I have finally been able to sew for myself – and to sew happily. Amazing how much more we can achieve when we are sewing without pressure!
    Since then, I’ve make at least one garment every weekend, and feel so much happier the rest of the week – I’m sure you know the feeling…

    I am so glad you cut out those tops for you. The fabrics are lovely, and I can’t wait to see the tops all made up. Yay for making yourself a complete wardrobe! That pattern is great, and cap sleeves are so cute 🙂
    It’ll be a treat and an inspiration to see you sew for yourself.

    I hope your back is better today…

    (I reposted this because it looked like my comment from this morning didn’t get through. Probably because there were two links in it. Hope you won’t get a duplicate!)

  2. March 12, 2007 9:58 am

    Oops! Sorry about the many mistakes 😕

Comments are closed.

