Skip to content

Tuesday Time Out

March 13, 2007

Today has been a stressful day. My kitty cat is still very sick and probably needs to return to the vet. That leads to financial stress because what are you going to do? Not take the cat? Of course not, she has to go, so I find the money from somewhere.

Next, my mother (who turns 87 this month) got sick from overexerting herself. (She’s better now, though.) Then, my daughter got the results from her abdominal CT scan. We are still waiting for the doctor to interpret the results, but we think we have translated the medical speak to mean that there is a kink in her small intestine. 

Stressful, yes, but the day is over. I’m grateful for that.

However, I do have to share something that delights me. My paid profession is as an editor and I belong to a copy editing list. There’s an off-topic branch of the list where we talk about anything – not copy editing related. Oddly enough, a long thread developed on the topic of sewing, and there were so many that contributed their experiences of sewing, frustrations with ready-to-wear clothing, where to find fabric online, and frustrations with fitting – the list goes on, you know it all to well.

My point is that it was extremely delightful to merge my love for words with sewing. Oh, sort of like what I do here? You bet.

No work on the pink top tonight. Too late, too tired. 

Stay tuned. Happy sewing.  

4 Comments
  1. March 14, 2007 2:30 am

    Sorry to hear you had such a stressful day, Claire. I hope tomorrow (well, today) will be better. I hope your mother, daughter and kitty get better.
    Know what you mean about merging the love for words with sewing. 🙂

  2. March 14, 2007 6:18 am

    Claire – sorry you had such a rough day. Hope Hump Day is better for all, but especially Maxie kitty.

  3. March 14, 2007 6:28 am

    Poor kitty, poor Claire, and poor checkbook — and I do mean poor … those vet bills sure do add up quickly. I hope your cat feels better soon and that today is a better day for you.

  4. March 14, 2007 3:18 pm

    i am always excited when i found out that someone i know sews. sort of like a secret club.

    hope the other issues resolve quickly and painlessly. spending some time with fabric always soothes my nerves.

Comments are closed.

