Skip to content

I have a full wardrobe of clothes

March 17, 2007

They’re just still unsewn.

Well, except for this new top.

PinkHibuscus1

To be honest, it’s not quite finished as the sleeves need to be hemmed. I’m going to do a rolled hem on them in a light pink. However, I’m waiting until tomorrow to do them as my eyes are tired and switching my serger to a rolled hem setting is a pain.

I had to sew on the neckline three times. You can read about my efforts the first time I sewed on the neckline in this post. I unstitched the whole neckline, tried again, and got the same results. I determined that the neckband was just too short.ย  So I cut out another strip of fabric for a slightly longer neckline and sewed it on for the third time. I’m quite happy with it now. It lies nicely along the back of the neck (always an issue for me) and I like the slightly wider neckline than the pattern calls for.

Here’s a closer view of the finished neckline.

PinkHibiscusTop4

This pattern (Simplicity 4076)ย is certainly a tried-and-true (TNT) pattern for me. I have two more on the table waiting to be sewn tomorrow. I’ll do another one just like this, but in a black and pink Asian-inspired knit with a light pink neckline (not sure about the sleeves yet, as I haven’t cut them out yet), and then a blue crushed velour twist top version with cap sleeves (already cut out).

Today was also a great day for another reason: My friend Gaylen came over to visit and see my sewing room. I hope she had as good a time as I did. We talked fabric, family, pets, and just whatever. With everything that’s gone on in my life this last year, it’s been refreshing just to have a friend over,ย hang out, and drink hot chocolate on a rainy, dreary afternoon. It’s fun to collude with her on how to alter a pattern, or how to morph two patterns into just the right dress for a chosen jacket. It was also fun to show her my UFOs and some of my “test” garments (also called things I made that didn’t quite work out right but that I don’t want to throw away.)

So, for now, I’m calling it an evening and I’m looking forward to a full day of sewing tomorrow.

6 Comments
  1. March 17, 2007 9:10 pm

    Cute, cute!! That pattern is on my short list too. And what a nice afternoon with Gaylen … I’m green. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. March 17, 2007 11:49 pm

    Great job on the top! The neckline looks much better (and one would never guess all the troubles it gave you!). Such a cute top for spring! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy Sunday sewing ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. March 18, 2007 3:46 am

    looks gorgeous! sometimes fabric just doesn’t want to behave. so jealous of your afternoon with a sewing friend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. March 18, 2007 6:50 am

    Thank you for the lovely comments. I can’t wait to wear it. Just wish you all could have been here with us too! How fun would *that* be???

  5. March 18, 2007 7:27 am

    I had a fabulous time. After coming home, having dinner with my hubby, then napping on his lap – I finished up my pink dress and sorted all my buttons. Plan on spending all day today sewing – it’s still rainy and dreary here!!! g

  6. March 18, 2007 8:58 am

    Love the comment about the wardrobe being unsewn – made me LOL! Glad that you and Gaylen got to spend some time together. It is sooooo kewl when you have a sewing buddy nearby who gets your creative side! Love the top and can’t wait to see the next two versions!

Comments are closed.

