Skip to content

Ta Da!

March 18, 2007

Here is top two for the weekend.

Pink Asian Inspired

Boy did this take a long time, and I sure learned a lot along the way. This is the exact same pattern, including the sleeves, as I used yesterday for the pink hibiscus top. The only differentiator was the fabric. For the main fabric, I used a remnant piece I got at Joann’s sometime last summer, and a pink polyester interlock from Hancocks for the contrast. It was so interesting to me to see how a different knit would work so completely differently around the neckline.

Here’s the first view of the neckline I did. Same length, same stitching process, and since the knit was flimsier, I even interfaced it lightly with some knit interfacing.

Bad neckline

You can clearly see how horribly this neckband was standing up, even poking outward in the front. Ugh. And it had gone on so smoothly that I skipped my usual step of trying it on either me or the dressform and serged the edges after the conventional row of stitching. Mistake. So I had to unstitch the entire neckline again. (Uh, how many times does that make for me unstitching a neckline this weekend? I lost count.)

So then I wanted to do something a bit different with the sleeves. I like the pink contrast in the neckband, and I didn’t have enough of the main fabric to cut out sleeves of the same, so I thought possibly I could do a split sleeve. I don’t know what they are called, but it’s like the same sleeve here, but cut right up the middle of the outside of the sleeve, and then hemmed. Since I couldn’t find any instructions anywhere on how to do that, I ditched that idea. (By the way, if anyone knows how to do that, please email me or post in the comments, because I will try that sleeve someday.)

Instead, I got out my handy-dandy bias tape makers and cut strips of the main fabric and edged the pink sleeve. I did a practice strip, and then a practice sleeve to see if I even liked the look. Yup, I did. But I wasn’t able to evenly stitch-in-the-ditch to hem the bias edge, so I ended up handsewing the hem on the inside. Worth the extra effort, but teee-deeee-uusss.

Here’s what the sleeves look like a bit closer up.

PinkAsianInspired_Sleeves

I really like the look. Even better, I got the smile and nod of approval from my daughter.(And it wasn’t your usual, ya, mom, looks nice smile – it was the Oooooh, that’s nice, Mom. Can I have one too? smile.)

All in all, it was a very productive and satisfying weekend. I just wish I didn’t have to go to work tomorrow and could have a few more days off to sew.

Next up, the blue twist top and a coordinating cardigan. 🙂

7 Comments
  1. March 18, 2007 8:46 pm

    Oooo!! Very pretty! Can I have one too?? 😉

    I love the print and the contrast with it. Well done!

  2. March 19, 2007 12:16 am

    Wow, your top is fantastic!! I love the contrasting pink, and the way you hemmed the sleeves. Just fabulous.

    Claire, I feel exactly like you this morning – it’s 9 am, and all I want to do is sew, not work! 🙂
    Plus, we’re getting snow today – snow! After more than a month of spring weather! Yikes! Everything is either budding, or blooming, and all the birds are back from the South. No idea how they’ll cope 😦

    Oh, but your top is fabulous, and that makes me smile 😀

  3. March 19, 2007 7:29 am

    That top looks great and I think I know what you want for the sleeve – I just can’t explain it! I might be able to draw it – though! g

  4. March 19, 2007 11:48 am

    gorgeous, dahling! i like it better with the contrasting sleeves. this gives it a much more interesting look.

  5. March 19, 2007 11:59 am

    Nice work on this top – the fabric is really neat!

  6. debbie permalink
    March 19, 2007 7:38 pm

    Cute top! I just finished this top and I found it interesting that you thought that the neck band was too short. I had to shorten it considerably to get it to lay right!

Trackbacks

  1. A Basic Math Quiz « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

