Skip to content

Last of the Simplicity 4026 – for now

March 24, 2007

Okay, this is the last top from the recent cutting fest.

Blue Twist Top

This fabric, a crushed velour, feels lovely on, but is annoying to work with – at least on my old machine. It slips and slides, even after adjusting the feed dogs. It required a lot of careful pinning and feeding through the conventional machine before serging the seams. I didn’t have time to dig through my books to find tips on how to work with this type of fabric, and as you know, I’m not afraid of fabrics. I like how this turned out, although, I think it is going to be a bit low cut and may require some tacking at the cleavage line. (Unless there are single, available men in the room, and then… well… )

I’m ready to put away this pattern for a while and work on sweaters, jackets, and skirts. It’s still cold weather here, so before I dig deep into summer clothes (tempting as it is), I need to sew up some warmer clothes. I have a pretty reversible woven that I want to make into a jacket/coat to wear with jeans or trousers (but of course I don’t have any trousers.) More on that tomorrow. However, sitting on the cutting table is this fabric that I got at the recent sewing Expo.

 Blue/White Reversible Knit

I plan to make a cardigan from it, probably from this pattern.

M4923 

I’ve made this up before, but I think it was a bit large in the shoulders, and definitely too long in the sleeves. This time I plan to alter the pattern to cut out a smaller size (accomodating for the shoulders) and then doing a full bust adjustment.

Now I need to go dig my crocheting out of the back of the closet and get ready to go to Gaylen’s. (Have I mentioned yet how utterly cool it is to have a sewing buddy who lives nearby? Not to mention, she’s is just a really, really nice person regardless. )

Happy sewing.

2 Comments
  1. March 25, 2007 5:04 am

    the blue top is very pretty! and, yes, that fabric is a bear to sew.

  2. March 26, 2007 5:57 am

    Great top! I’ll have to try making a twist top some day. Had to laugh about the cleavage bit. Either way, it’ll look great. Showing a bit of cleavage never hurt anybody. 😉 I have so little cleavage, personally, so I’d say, embrace what you have! 😀

Comments are closed.

