Skip to content

Skirting the issue

March 25, 2007

I’m sure there are plenty of other things I should be doing, like vacuuming, or mopping a floor, but instead, today I’m going to mess with skirts. My friend, Gaylen, gave me a little sewing gift last night: two new Vogue skirt patterns. (Thank you, Gaylen!) One I had on my wish list, the other I completely overlooked but love.

This is the one I was looking for that she found for me, and which I will start with – Vogue 8296:

V8296

I’ll be making view A, the far left one. The skirt description from the pattern is “Lined, semi-fitted, bias cut skirt, slightly flared, has side zipper and grosgrain ribbon waistline facing.” View A is below mid-knee, and view C (far right) is mid-calf.

I love the asymetrical lines in the seams and think they will be very flattering on my shape, but I didn’t realize the seams had raw edges on the outside. We’ll see how this works for me considering that one of the fabrics I want to use doesn’t play fray nicely. Suggested fabrics are lightweight woolens, synthetic suede, lightweight crepe and charmeuse. I wasn’t planning on using any of those. I have a brown poly twill (I guess that’s what it is) that I wanted to use first, then a lovely purple stretch denim (which would look nice with the raw edges.) So we will be experimenting.

The other skirt is Vogue 8040:

V8040

View B and A (left and center) are the ones I want to make. Here, suggested fabrics are silk-like crepe, challis, crepe de chine, charmeuse, and double georgette. Not sure yet which fabric from my stash I’ll use. I’d like to use up some of what I have already before buying something new. (Yeah, I know, famous last words and all that.)

Okay, off to get started.

3 Comments
  1. March 25, 2007 8:31 am

    OK, first … SO JEALOUS that you and Gaylen get to play in person! 😉

    Love the skirt patterns, esp. the first one. I agree that it is a great style for you. Good luck with sewing it up.

  2. March 25, 2007 2:03 pm

    I’m with Debbie – I’m jealous that you have a sewing friend so close to you! How fun that the two of you can get together and the skirt patterns are cute!

  3. March 26, 2007 5:54 am

    Can’t wait to see your skirts, Claire! Both patterns are lovely.

Comments are closed.

