Skip to content

Pincushions and Needles

March 27, 2007

Ever heard of dry needling? No, it’s not pestering people with jokes that aren’t funny. It’s turning me into a human pincushion.

I had to look it up. It’s a method of treating chronic back pain. I never considered myself to be someone who suffered from chronic pain. I’m “stoic”, tough, a fighter, I don’t whine (much), I can trip up, but then I pick myself up by my bootstraps and move on. Probably, I’m too independent. But this back pain I’m told will probably always be with me. I’ll always be vulnerable to the pain, but I can improve my range of movement and ability to do things considerably – or so my spine doctor tells me.

Yesterday I went for my follow up after my first cortisone shot. The effect of the steroid has helped improve things some, but it’s tapered off to about half of the initial effect. So, yesterday, my doctor tried some dry needling in my upper back. Wow. What she did was insert needles directly into the muscles attached to (or surrounding) my spine. I couldn’t see the needles, and couldn’t see exactly where they were being inserted, but I could feel them. This is different than accupuncture. These needles went in… one and a half inches into me. Wow. Wow. Wow. What she does is to insert the needle, and then twist it. The intent is to “wake up” the muscle so that it resumes flexibility and mobility.

I did really well. It hurt a bit, but overall, just a little residual bruising. I may even go back for more, if it helps.

Maybe I’ll get to use my sewing needles tomorrow night.

2 Comments
  1. March 28, 2007 1:29 am

    This just gets to show… Needles are *good* for you! 😉
    Seriously, I’m not sure I could have been that brave. Hats off! I really hope this will help you get rid of that pain.

  2. Bev permalink
    March 28, 2007 4:58 am

    I’m another one with chronic back pain so I sympathize. I’ve never heard of this treatment, and it’s never even been suggested to me. I’ll have to check it out. I pretty much have given up thinking there was anything out there that would help.

    Hope you begin to feel some improvement soon!

Comments are closed.

