Skip to content

(Un)conditional love

April 2, 2007

My daughter bought a new refrigerator magnet. It says, with a picture of a chihuahua: “LOVE: A dog is the only animal who will always love you more than he loves himself.”

The more I think about that, the more I believe that to be true. I love my cats and wouldn’t trade them for anything. In fact, I’d be devastated if anything happened to them. I think they love me always too, but usually on their own timetable. But my new experiences these days with my new puppy Lily, and watching Trixie and Daisy Mae, I’m developing an entirely new appreciation for dogs.

This Saturday, I got to enjoy the love of my grandson and granddaughter. My granddaughter was so excited to go scrapbooking with my other daughter and me, and especially since I was bringing Lily along. She is such a good puppy mommy. Although, she does tend to want to hold the dog all the time, and my puppy needs to learn to walk on her own.

lily-018_small.jpg

The hilarious part of the weekend was watching my two year old grandson playing with all the puppies and trying to avoid being licked in the face by Trixie, who is now one-third his size. My grandson kept picking up Daisy and taking her, arms outstretched, down the hall and placing her on the floor in front of his parents’ bedroom door. Then he’d walk back to the front room and when Daisy followed him back out there, he’d pick her up and take her right back in a very matter of fact manner. It was hilarious. lily-029_small.jpg

It suddenly occurs to me it’s just like the closing scenes from the original Flinstones cartoons where Fred Flinstone puts the cat out and he jumps back in through the window. If I could find a picture of it, it would look much like the one above, only in cartoon form. And of course, it was a sabre toothed tiger Fred kept putting out, not a chihuahua.

Happy Monday!

2 Comments
  1. April 2, 2007 10:07 pm

    So sweet! You must have had a fantastic time. πŸ™‚

  2. April 3, 2007 3:18 pm

    too much cuteness in one post. πŸ™‚ love the fred flintstone story.

Comments are closed.

