Skip to content

Spring has sprung

April 3, 2007

The grass weeds has riz…

In blogland there are lots of beautiful pictures of flowering trees of all sorts depicting the onset of spring. Well, here in my yard, this is what spring looks like:

spring2007.jpg

Leftover leaves from windy fall and winter days rotting among last year’s strawberry plants that are resprouting between the weeds and leftover groundcover from last summer. The fake cat looks pissed off with this scenario.

The weather today though was great. The day started out cold with me needing to scrape ice off my windshield before going to work. But by noon, it was in the mid 50s or better. My afternoon meeting at work got rescheduled, so I took advantage of the opportunity and played hookey. Actually, I had some important errands to run and figured I’d catch up on some document editing in the evening. Still planning on doing that, but we’ll see. I’ve lost all motivation for work anymore. Well, for this job anyway.

I got home and my daughter and I took all three puppies for a walk. Well, more like one walked and the other two were carried. They are far too little to really walk very far. Daisy Mae does much better than my Lily does at walking and being outgoing. Lily seems to be more timid and will require more work to get her going. Trixie is highly energetic and one time took off running and my daughter had to run to catch up with her. One wouldn’t think that normally a chihuahua would outrun an adult.

We ended up at one neighborhood park and a couple girls and a boy (third and fourth graders) came up to us to see the puppies. They delighted in the puppies – all of them – as expected and watching them, I realized once again the joy in living in the moment. Appreciating children and puppies. Life can’t get much simpler.

When we got home, the babies were plain tuckered out.

lily-063_small.jpg

That’s Lily on the left, and Daisy Mae on the right. They are so incredibly tiny. And sweet.

Okay, so, enough puppy cuteness. (Mermaid, I promise to post more later.)

What about sewing? I need to get back to that. I think I may hold off on the Vogue skirt for a while, but I’m not sure. I’m stuck on some stuff I saw on the myshape.com site that has inspired me, as well as this top that Gigi Louis made. I’ve never made a Neue Mode pattern before, but that top rocks.

Gaylen also tipped me off to some lime green home dec fabric at Hancock’s, just like the pink home dec she purchased for a jacket. I want to check it out and might pick some up this weekend for this coat. I am obsessed with that coat and dress combo.

I have to go clothes shopping this weekend as I may have some job interviews coming up and I have nothing professional to wear and no time to sew anything. Besides, I want to stock up on a few store-bought items so that when I sew, it’s for fun and pleasure, not because I have to. And shoes, let’s not forget shoes!

Spring has sprung. I’m ready to plant some new seeds.

2 Comments
  1. April 4, 2007 4:56 am

    The puppies are incredibly cute! Happy shopping, then 🙂 Hurray for spring! 😀

  2. April 4, 2007 7:48 am

    Your puppies are so cute and tiny!!! If I didn’t already have cats…. What kinda are they again?

Comments are closed.

