Skip to content

Sewing Room Dreams

April 4, 2007

If you could design the perfect sewing room, what would you include? If you’ve already designed your sewing room, what is your favorite aspect about it? What are parts you wish you had before, can’t live without, or wish you’d done differently?

I’m getting ready to do some remodeling, and part of the remodeling includes new flooring and complete painting of the inside of my house. I started to do the painting myself last year, and then my daughter got sick, and my back got really bad, so everything is half finished. I still have the blue tape up in the kitchen.

I’m going to put hardwood (not laminate, not Pergo) throughout as much of the house as I can afford. I think I’ll put it in the sewing room too. My sewing room is really a loft/bonus room at the top of the stairs, so it has a half wall separating it from the stairwell and the room. I’ve considered changing the solid wall to bannisters, but then I’d lose wall space, so I don’t think I’ll do that.

Here are some of the features I want:

  • A built in ironing board
  • Shelves and cabinets
  • A custom ergonomically correct cutting table. (How cool would it be if the cutting table folded up into the wall when I wasn’t using it?)
  • A comfortable chair for sitting and doing hand sewing
  • A bulletin board
  • A magnetic dry erase board
  • Framed areas with hooks to hang garments in process (I saw this on an HGTV episode)
  • Better lighting
  • Adequate drawers for pattern storage
  • A tall cabinet to hold fabric on home dec bolts

I’m not sure what else I want. What would you include?

4 Comments
  1. April 5, 2007 5:23 am

    I would love to put Elfa shelving on one large wall of the room and fill that entire shelved space with clear bins and boxes, so I can see all of my fabric and notions. Then I would put a nice long sliding drapery to cover the wall–sort of hospital style, but very elegant, so I can cover it when I feel anxious and overwhelmed by my things. I would love a very nice table that I can use to sew, to copy patterns, and I would also put on top of it a makeshift ironing board/cutting board. I just need a sewing corner, not a room per se. I just want a little space to dedicate to my sewing and not have to bring out all the equipment for one area to bring to another. Great post.

  2. April 5, 2007 6:35 am

    I definitely don’t have my dream room yet, but I do have a new little sewing machine table that I love. I used to sew on non sewing machine table and my back would hurt pretty quickly because it wasn’t the correct height. Now that I have an actual sewing machine table it is so much more comfortable. The other thing I really really want when we move and have more room is a cutting table so I don’t have to do it on the floor.

  3. April 5, 2007 7:50 pm

    I had professional help with my sewing room, and boy did I need it! A couple of the best features:

    ~everything is where I use it….thread racks on the wall by the machines, cutting implements on the wall by the cutting table

    ~the cutting table juts out into the room (so only the short end of it is against the wall) so that I can walk around 3 sides of it.

    ~there is a pegboard on the wall next to the cutting table. It’s fantastic b/c you can rearrange the pegs and holders as you please. I have all my rulers on there, scissors, rotary cutters, pins, tapes, etc..

    Things I wish I had but we couldn’t do due to cost or space:

    ~a larger sewing table with more room both behind and to the right of the sewing machine and the serger

    ~somewhere to hang works in progress besides on my dressforms (like the framed pegs you saw on HGTV….I saw that one too and loved that!)

    There are some pics of my very small sewing room (half room) on my blog. The peg board pic is old and it’s not full… now I have spaces on there for three pin magnets (regular pins, stretch, and silk) and more rulers and tools. I also use almost all of the modular metal shelves over the computer desk for sewing stuff (the other half of the room is the office.) I have hat boxes full of trims and battings. Binders full of various information. Magazine organizers. And tins full of buttons. Oh, and some stacks of fabric that won’t fit in the closet!

    cheers,
    dawn

  4. April 6, 2007 1:57 pm

    The fold up cutting board would be awesome!! LIke those old beds that drop out of the wall. 😀 I definitely want an ergonomically correct cutting board, and new sewing cabinets/tables. I’d also like to have plenty of shelving and drawers for all my “stuff”, but would like to keep my antique cabinets too, where I keep my sewing books & fabrics currently. Ooh, and a wheelie chair that’s comfy so I can wheel back and forth and back and forth. You’ll have to post pics as you work so we can see!

Comments are closed.

