Skip to content

I should..

April 6, 2007

Be sewing. I’ve got time, but I’m tired. I don’t know what I want to work on. I’ve tabled the Vogue skirt for right now. I’m thinking I’ll sew up something easy for my trip to Seaside, Oregon next weekend. It’s been warm – unseasonably warm – here today, and I’m catching up on rest and relaxation.

Sometimes I wonder how “fashionable” the items I make are, particularly with the sleeve options I’ve chosen. You know how some of the big 4 patterns can be a bit outdated but called new, right? Well, I saw these two tops on the Nordstrom website and it made me feel much better.

This one has sleeves like the top I just made in pink, only it’s a wrap. (I have a pattern just like this, I’m sure.) This is cute, and might just be the next top I make.

wraptop_wsleeves.jpg

This top (below) is almost identical to the same pink top, only the sleeves are different, and it costs $56. My top cost $5.

nordyst.jpg

And shirt/wrap dresses are all over the Nordstrom site as well, just like this pattern:

M5314-1

So, that’s what I’m doing. Browsing websites while my daughter barbeques dinner. Yup, I should be sewing. And I will. Soon.

6 Comments
  1. April 6, 2007 6:55 pm

    I really like the top wrap top. If you have a pattern similar to this, let me know which one it is. I would love to sew this as a spring/summer top.

  2. April 6, 2007 7:21 pm

    Ariane, I think I have one like this, or it will be a morph between two patterns. I’ll scout them out and post for you. 🙂

  3. April 7, 2007 3:03 am

    Wow, I just love that wrap!! It’s similar to a pattern you bought last month, and that I accordingly added to my wishlist. McCall 5233. You’d only need to alter the sleeves, but that shouldn’t be too tricky.
    That top looks so like yours. Isn’t it fantastic to browse those fabulous websites and realize we’ve made the same kind of garment for a fraction of the price! (not to mention, ours is unique!)

    Have a happy Easter weekend, Claire! 🙂

  4. April 7, 2007 5:04 am

    I love all those ideas. I love the first blouse. I really love the green top because it is my favorite color. I wish you speedy sewing.

  5. April 7, 2007 7:41 am

    Great garment ideas. I should browse more clothing websites! Or maybe I’ll just let you do it for me 🙂 g

  6. April 7, 2007 7:59 am

    Claire – I love all the ideas you posted…and sometimes you need to rest your creative spirit along with your body…believe it or not I get those times when I want to do nothing but veg. I find when I give into them that my creative juices are stronger and sure than when I try to push or work my way through them. I am sure that whatever you decide to work on next will be terrific!

Comments are closed.

