Skip to content

Inventory time

April 8, 2007

Every good household (and person, for that matter) needs a thorough housecleaning and inventory from time to time.

So, that’s what I did. This all started when I tried to figure out what to sew. I wanted to make something with the cool reversible knit I bought at expo, and then thought of this pattern (McCall 5233.)

M5233

However, the knit felt too heavy for this pattern, even though I think it would work nicely with just the right knit. And since this pattern calls for “Lightweight Fabrics Such as Batiste • Challis • Crepe de Chine • Charmeuse • Gauze,” I started going through my fabric collection to see what I had that would work. As I found some potential fabrics, I realized I hadn’t washed them yet, so in the laundry they went. While they were washing, I decided to sort of inventory my stash and reorganize my fabric by color. Previously, I had it sorted by type, and that was just too disorganized for me. Seems I’m usually looking for something in a certain color or shade, so that’s the angle I’m using now. Plus, I decided to try folding the fabric pieces instead of rolling them, and that seems to look neater as well.

Here’s the fabric cabinet starting to look a bit more organized.

lily-094_small.jpg

I haven’t tackled the lower shelves yet, and there is still a lot of fabric that is left out waiting to be folded and put away. Dang, I didn’t expect it to be such a big project. It’s worthwhile to do this however, because I can clearly see what colors I gravitate toward, and which ones are missing from the palette. I love pinks. Pink, pink, and more pink. I also like purples, browns/beiges, and oranges. The dark colors I gravitate toward are really navy and brown, not too much black. And very, very little red. I think I really only have one or two pieces of red. I also notice the types of fabric I like. My favorites are sheers, knits, and shiny fabrics (could be crepe satin, charmeuse, I don’t know for sure.) I also have far too much childrens’ fabrics and flannels. I also found I have some very old scraps of fabrics such as odd shades of yellow cottons, ginghams, and other strange fabrics. Since I don’t really want to toss them – yet – I think I’ll put them in a storage container and remove them from the main stash area.

All this inventorying is good to do. I’m going to Seaside, Oregon next weekend, and Gaylen mentioned a really nice quilting fabric store in Cannon Beach (just down the highway) and I know I will make an excuse to run out for coffee and (cough) get lost.

~~~~

Interrupting my inventory afternoon was this very welcome overnight guest.

lily-103_upright_small.jpg

My grandson had so much fun with the puppies. That’s Lily on the left, and Daisy trying to turn new jeans into the chewed and worn look.

Here he is having almost as much fun coloring with his auntie as his auntie is having coloring with him.

stacy_cayden_coloring_small.jpg

I sure get worn out running after a two year old, and every time he visits, I remember why I’m glad I had my kids so young. I can’t imagine having more now, although there are plenty of women my age who are still having babies. But I still love having him here as he just fills up my heart with joy and reminds me of all the important things in life. I don’t care how badly my back aches after he’s been here. It’s all worth it.

5 Comments
  1. BjP permalink
    April 8, 2007 6:57 pm

    Ooooh, thanks, Claire! I have never been satisfied with the way I have my stash organized. Like you, I have it sorted by “type” and that just hasn’t been working for me. When you said that you reorganized based on colors and that you could now tell “which ones are missing from the palette” that sent off a !Whoo Hoo! from me. Makes perfect sense and I’m most definitely going to have to reorganize soon! It’s been frustrating not remembering what colors I need and I’ve ended up with too many of the same ones. I’m still rolling fabric but that does seem to work out ok with my cubby hole configuration. (I won’t count the fabric in bins if you won’t.)

    Cute puppies and grandson picture! Did you check his pockets before he went home? I do think Daisy was trying to climb into one!

  2. April 9, 2007 5:57 am

    Cute cute pics of the grandboy and the puppies. For not being “real” dogs – they sure are cute!!! g

  3. April 9, 2007 5:42 pm

    I LOVE that pattern. I like the kimono look, and the wrap look…and here are both together. I made a note for next time I go out.

    I like how you’ve sorted your fabrics. I wish I could have mine out in view all the time like that…it would give me more ideas and incentive to sew for myself I think. But I’ve got them in plastic bins in the closet due to lack of space “out in the open.” As a result…I forget what I have!

  4. April 15, 2007 3:19 pm

    Just wanted to tell you I bought the McCall’s pattern. I couldn’t resist. I’d like to wear it long past when the trend will fade away though b/c I’ve always loved this style. I can’t decide on a fabric. did you? I ordered some swatches from Candlelight Valley fabrics, some crinkled silk and a silk jersey. Nothing really expensive, but nice enough to last awhile. I didn’t get them yet….can’t wait.
    dawn

  5. April 15, 2007 7:20 pm

    Hi Dawn,

    I think I’m going to use the coral, lime, and pink large plaid silky that I just got in Seaside, Oregon for the wrap. I’ll update a post soon to show you. 🙂 I love that look too.

Comments are closed.

