Skip to content

Funday Monday

April 9, 2007

Today I spent the day finishing up my fabric inventory and taking it easy. I actually had a pretty good day. I even pulled out the home dec fabric that was stuffed in my closet and inventoried that. This has been a very good exercise for me. I learned I have an insane amount of kids fabric and plenty of apparel fabric – although can we fabric-holics ever have too much fabric? No, because you never know when the creative bug will strike and you will have just the right fabric to use. At one point, I had all the cubes full, and the cutting table stacked with more fabric. (I’ll post pictures later – they are on my other computer.)

I also learned that I need more storage space, so when I get a contractor in here to help me, I’m going to need probably double the storage space that I have now. I like being able to see the fabric, not behind a closed door, but perhaps that is better. The jury is still out on that.

What’s fun about sorting through fabric is just touching it and feeling it, igniting the creative passion when it is smoldering under stress and fatigue. I had some glimpses of creativity, and will share with you when they have gelled into something doable.

This afternoon I went to the chiropractor. He said it’s like night and day between when I go to work and when I don’t. I felt freeer today, less stress, and admittedly my back was not as whacked out of shape, even after a weekend with a toddler. I don’t need any more clues about whether my current job is good for me – signs are clear. He also said I just need to find me a rich man to marry or win the lottery. How about both?

More later!

3 Comments
  1. April 10, 2007 12:44 am

    Hi Claire! From your two posts, which I found at the same time this morning, it sounds like you had a wonderful, fun and relaxing weekend! I am glad your back is feeling better.
    Totally agree about fabric, too. I used to feel guilty, then I realized it’s like an artist with his oil colours – he can’t be creative with just a few of them, right? He needs a whole palette. It’s the same for us, I believe.

    I also want to let you know that when my father bought me the Vogue pattern I took advantage of the order to buy the McCall’s 5383, which was also on sale on the website – so there’s no need to pick up that one for me anymore 😉 ♥

    Have a great week Claire – hope it proves less stressful than the last! 😀 Take care 🙂

  2. April 10, 2007 12:45 am

    PS: lovely new banner for your blog 🙂

  3. April 10, 2007 2:49 pm

    while i would love to have all my pretty fabric in full view, i keep all of my fabric under wraps. fabric will fade, sometimes very rapidly, if exposed to light. i know, lots of people have their fabrics out and some of them have had no problems with fading. however, i have not been so lucky. why is it only the prettiest of my fabrics ever faded? the junky stuff was just fine. grrr.

    there is also the dust factor to consider. dust mites *love* fabric. as an extra precaution against, i fold my fabric with the wrong side out for storage.

Comments are closed.

