Skip to content

Before and After

April 10, 2007

Here is the sewing room before I started sorting the fabric.sewingroom-stash_cropped.jpg

And here it is after.

sewing-006_cropd.jpg

I think reorganizing by color makes a lot of sense. The only place where I deviated from that is with the children’s fabric. Even then, I still have some cottons sorted by color. My storage is clearly inadequate, as the following overflow shows.

sewing-009_small.jpg

Clearly I need to either get busy sewing this stuff up, or get more storage space. Since I’m not fast at sewing, seems like the latter is more likely. So, how to store? I haven’t made up my mind yet, but Mermaid made a point that I had overlooked. She mentioned fading of the fabric to sunlight, as well as dust. Maybe storing in a closed cabinet is more sensible. I’ll keep you posted.

Meanwhile, I have new sewing assistants. I had a bin open that holds my fabric scraps and one furry feline made it her nest. Here are the other two assistants, enjoying the pleasant surroundings.

sewing-004_small.jpg

The puppies went to the vet today for vaccinations. Lily weighs 1.9 pounds and Daisy May weighs 1.5 pounds. Trixie weighs 5.7 pounds. Porker.

Other than that, I’m not doing a heck of a lot besides taking it easy and catching up on sleep and destressing. I’m considering taking a huge leap of faith and quitting my job before I have another one completely lined up. This is a source of some deep soul searching on my part. I’ve always been independent and self sufficient with no one else to rely upon or support me. I remember for the brief period I was married talking to my husband about moving to a part time position and he almost had a coronary right there. Only one of the many reasons we divorced.

I do remember, however, when my daughters were little (I was 23) and I lived with my parents, I asked my father if he would support me while I quit a low paying job with a long commute and searched for a better one, closer to home. He agreed, but with the condition I pay him back the rent I couldn’t pay while unemployed. I got a job within two weeks.

Although that agreement instilled in me a deep sense of responsibility and work ethics, it has also given me a fear of the unknown and a huge fear of taking risks – of any sort. Instead of having faith or reliance on God, a higher power, other people, whatever, I have learned to rely solely on my own hard work, determination, and perserverence.

There’s a saying that says never leave a job until you have another one lined up. (My mother also always said “never leave a man unless you have another one waiting in the wings,” but that’s a whole ‘nother story I won’t debate now.) However, where I am right now, I’m not sure that is always the best advice about jobs. There is something to be said about completely severing a relationship with a company, not lying about time off to job hunt and go to interviews, and rejuvenating the soul, thus venturing forth for a new challenge recharged, positive, with high esteem and confidence in one’s abilities. I’m also not sure I know of many people who leave a job because everything was great and they were treated famously.

So these are the things I will be pondering during my weekend at the ocean this weekend. In between shopping for more fabric for the collection, of course.

seasideor.jpg

(Seaside, Oregon – photo courtesy of Seaside Visitors Bureau.)

6 Comments
  1. April 10, 2007 10:55 pm

    Good luck on finding *your* answer, Claire. Congratulations on sorting out all those fabrics! Love the picture of your little sewing elves 😉
    How wonderful to be spending a weekend at the ocean. That will do you loads of good, for sure! 😀

    Have a lovely day today 🙂 ♥

  2. April 11, 2007 5:01 am

    Congrats on sorting that large stash. It looks like an overwhelming task that you easily conquered. Have a fun trip!

  3. April 11, 2007 6:17 am

    The fabric storage looks great. The new banner looks good! Can’t wait to get together and play with my blog’s look 😉

    My 2 cents on the job search – for whatever reason you are always more employable when employed. I would search out the FMLA info and take time of to take care of the DD. Also, as much as you can – act “as if.” g

  4. Laura permalink
    April 11, 2007 7:53 am

    I was a single mother of 3 when I walked off a job 6 years ago. I was 41 years old and had worked full time since I was 18. I was laid off from my first job after 21 years, then took another job for a year, and then moved into the most hideous job of my life. What made it worse was I had thought it was the opportunity of a life time. Needless to say I was shaken, suddenly no money coming in, no health insurance etc… I ended up taking a job where I made half as much which meant that I had to take a waitressing job part time in the evenings to make ends meet. BUT! I love my job and I don’t mind waitressing as I love my co-workers. I won’ t do this the rest of my life but it works for now. No one should have to stay in a job they hate no matter how well it pays. You are obviously a smart woman and shouldn’t have trouble finding something. If you can survive on savings then go ahead and quit but if it would be a struggle then wait until you find something else. On a lighter note, I have a calico who thinks I can’t sew unless she’s lying on my patterns, fabric or anything else that’s the focus of my attention. Right now I’m working on my daughter’s prom dress!! I am trying to keep the Beast (that’s her name) off it so it doesn’t look like my daughters wearing a nasty fur dress.

  5. April 11, 2007 6:03 pm

    Claire,

    Your fabric “art storage project” looks fantastic. Good work! It must feel fantastic to walk in the room and see the efforts of your work.

    You were talking about your job and wanting to leave there and find another place to connect with–my vote is to do this if you feel your heart guiding you this direction.

    Have you ever heard of Dr. Wayne Dyer? I have several of his book and just love a lot of the things he says. http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/w/wayne_dyer.html

    For example, here are some of his says:

    Freedom means you are unobstructed in living your life as you choose. Anything less is a form of slavery.
    Wayne Dyer

    Go for it now. The future is promised to no one.
    Wayne Dyer

    How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.
    Wayne Dyer

  6. April 11, 2007 6:06 pm

    Sorry, I should have proofread by comments before sending because I see I have several typos in there.

Comments are closed.

