Skip to content

Fabric High

April 13, 2007

Bright and early, right as they opened, I was at the Montero Sisters fabric store today in Seaside, Oregon. It was the first day of their 50% off business closing sale. I had plenty of money in my pocket to spend without having to worry about how much I should spend. You can’t imagine how seriously fun that was. Okay, so yes, you can. But still. What a complete and absolute rush for me. My friend, Mary, said my face was even flushed, I was so giddy with excitement.

First, I’ll show you the fabrics. I got some other fun notions, and a couple very, very cool store fixtures, which I’ll show you later. I hope these images do the colors justice.

Okay, so remember the yellow coat I saw on MyShape.com? Well, I found the buttercream colored fabric that will be perfect for it.

buttercream.jpg

Now I have to find the pattern to make this work. Hopefully it doesn’t take more than about 3.25 yards, because that’s all there is of this. It may end up being a shorter jacket, rather than a coat.

Next up, a pretty poly rayon crepe-ish fabric. (Dang, I wish I’d learn to write down what the stuff is when I buy it.)

blackyellowsilky.jpg

Then this bold print, to which the camera does not do it justice. It has a very pretty coral, pink, and kiwi green color scheme to it, with a black contrast on white.

corallime.jpg

It pairs nicely with this lovely poly linen (or linen look that doesn’t crinkle.) I am mutilitating the descriptions of these top of the line fabrics, I know, and I apologize for that. Trust me, in person they are just delicious.

coralpolylinen.jpg

Then there’s this krinkle sheer fabric that will either make a lovely lined skirt or a nice top. Goes nicely with the coral as well.

krinklefabric.jpg

Next I bought some beautiful quilting cottons to try to make a skirt like Gaylen did with her daisy fabric. The black will be the main fabric and the white the contrast.

blackwhitetrio.jpg

What’s missing that you can’t really see is what’s in the background (what the fabric is resting on). I bought three yards of this fabulous black chenile. I’ll get a better picture later for you as the one I took is all blurry and you can’t see the luxuriousness of it. I plan to make a lovely jacket out of it.

To go with everything above and with this…

fuschiablackensemble.jpg

The floral is a cotton stretch lycra print in black and fuschia (I’ll make a skirt with it), and the stripe is a t-shirt knit. The Montero Sisters purchased it specifically to coordinate with this floral. It totally rocks.

So, there you have it. All the fabric. Notions and stuff to follow. And it was all half off. What more could I ask for? Well, how about time to sew it up? I need to seriously get busy when I get home. I’m motivated now!

11 Comments
  1. April 13, 2007 5:38 pm

    Wow! Look who got her fabric shop on! It is a very nice haul…and congrats on the calls from the recruiters…it looks like things are looking up in that department too!

  2. April 13, 2007 7:33 pm

    I’m drooling!

  3. Holly permalink
    April 13, 2007 9:35 pm

    LOVE the yellow and black!

  4. April 14, 2007 1:04 am

    I just found your blog a while ago and I have had fun perusing it. I am jealous of your fabric haul – great pieces all around. I love that myShape inpiration jacket – I look forward to seeing it made up in your new fabric.

  5. April 14, 2007 4:10 am

    the fabrics are devine!!! i am completely jealous. ok, i shouldn’t be “completely” jealous because dh just returned from asia with a bagful of silks for me. i will post photos soon.

    love the way so many of your fabrics coordinate. dh is good fabric shopper but has not learned the “coordinating” trick yet.

    teri

  6. April 14, 2007 6:45 am

    Claire that yellow for the My Shape Inspiration Jacket is perfect!! Did they have it another colorway? Oh, I wish I could be in Seaside with you rather than in rainy Seattle!!!

    Have fun – can’t wait to see all the goodies in person!! g

  7. April 14, 2007 9:08 am

    Wonderful fabrics! I love them all, but the floral lycra have me particularly drooling. Oh, the fun you must have had! and the fun you will have, sewing them up 🙂

  8. Leslie in Austin permalink
    April 14, 2007 10:29 am

    Thanks for sharing photos of your loot with those of us on fabric diets. That butter yellow fabric is especially lovely. It’s perfect for a spring coat!

  9. April 14, 2007 12:06 pm

    Beautiful fabrics. The last set I need to look for as I know my customers will flip over them.

  10. April 15, 2007 5:39 pm

    What great fabrics! The colors are wonderful.

Trackbacks

  1. Party Dress Planning « Little Miss Sew N Sew

Comments are closed.

