Skip to content

There’s no place like home

April 15, 2007

Ah, I’m so glad to finally be home. As soon as I can get my photos uploaded, I’ll share with you some of the scenes of Seaside, Oregon as well as the rest of the loot I brought home. One of the wonderful things about going to Oregon is no sales tax. Not only did I get everything on sale, I didn’t have to pay the additional 9% sales tax like here at home.

So, to quote Carolyn (cmarie12), not only did I get my fabric shop on, I got my RTW clothes shop on! And shoes, and more. I was totally inspired this weekend and completely indulged myself. To some, it may seem as if I’ve been extravagant. However, I rarely, if ever, buy for myself. The last pair of shoes I bought myself was a year ago – a good pair of Diesels that are very well loved now. I’ve worn the same two pairs of jeans every day for the last four months – including weekends. Seriously. I decided that I needed some staples immediately for business and interviews and although I could sew them, I just don’t have the time. Once I have the corporate staples, I can supplement them with all the stuff from my stash old and new.

More on the clothes later when I can share pictures with you.

The weather was great, overall. We had an evening of rain, but there was sun almost all weekend, although it was cold. I enjoyed spending the time with my mother and glad that I was able to make the drive all the way there and back (about 200 miles one way or so.) My back fared okay, a bit stiff, but I managed.

I’m glad to be home. Grateful for many, many things in my life. Going away for a while sure helps to put things in perspective and give a person a sense of gratitude for all the blessings and bounties in one’s life. I’m especially grateful for all my family and friends (both old and new.)

(PS – I also wanted to say thank you to everyone who comments on my blog. I may not get a chance to personally send you a reply by email, but I read every response and appreciate them all.)

2 Comments
  1. April 16, 2007 3:29 am

    Welcome home Claire! Sounds like you had some shopping success, which is good for the spirit!

  2. April 16, 2007 7:38 am

    Welcome home! Glad you had such a refreshing time. Looking forward to the pics! 🙂

Comments are closed.

