Skip to content

Show and Tell – Part 2

April 16, 2007

So, wanna see the rest of my loot? Here are the notions I got from the Montero Sisters in Seaside, Oregon.

img_0100_small.jpg

Aside from the obvious, I got a tailor’s ham and sleeve press. Yes, I didn’t have one of those, and the price was right.

Over in the bottom right notice the little bit of fabric I added in there. I really got this the next day after a deep, thought-provoking phone conversation with my fellow enabler, Gaylen. I mentioned to her about the beautiful buttercream silk that I saw that was regularly about $18 a yard and which I put back and didn’t purchase with the rest of the loot. She said, uh, Claire, just how much are you worth? Don’t you think that at $9 a yard for SILK to line your custom, perfectly fitted, one-of-a-kind, to-die-for jacket you are worth it? Okay, okay, SOLD.

And there were these cute buttons:

img_0102_small.jpg

And this bead trim. It’s somewhat hard to see, sorry, but it’s a very, very pretty pink and green beaded trim that I’m going to put around the base of a lampshade for my sewing room.

img_0114_small.jpg

The last little surprise that I got from Montero Sisters, which I’m tickled silly about, are these items that they used in the store to highlight fabrics. I got these for $15 each. I think they are the coolest thing for a sewing room.

img_0118_small.jpg

img_0117_small.jpg

The photo quality is poor as they are just leaning up against my wall. They are about 5 feet by 3.5 feet black melamine or some sort of laminated board. They aren’t too heavy, but I’m going to paint them a dark chocolate brown as my sewing loft is brown, pink and pear green. Then they have predrilled holes to hang them with, and I’m going to use short curtain rods to hang them.

And finally, Saturday morning, I got to walk on the beach and test out my new camera’s action setting and captured these random pups running around in circles on the beach. It was a beautiful morning.

img_0082_small.jpg

img_0081_small.jpg

img_0085_small.jpg

Next, I’ll let you know what I’ve decided to sew up first. 🙂 Stay tuned, and sweet sewing dreams to you all.

3 Comments
  1. April 17, 2007 12:14 am

    What a great stash haul!! You’re in for hours and hours of fun 🙂 I love the two boards, what a great way to decorate your sewing room!

    Beautiful pictures of the beach and dogs, too 🙂

  2. Kate permalink
    November 22, 2008 12:17 am

    I can’t believe you didn’t receive more responses to this post. I stumbled onto it while searching around to see if Montero Sisters had relocated because La Fred Patterns still has them listed as a resource. I too partook in the Montero Sisters blowout sales when they closed their store last year. So sad to see them dissolve, but man, what a haul I made (twice!). Such fabulous stuff, I still drool when I think of all the fabrics I have stashed away. I live in Astoria, and my husband and I don’t drive to the beach nearly often enough; your pictures make me wistful–maybe we’ll just have to visit Seaside this weekend.

    Anyway, I just love your decorating idea of the beaded fringe for your lamp in your sewing room–very 1920s! I LOVE that piece of buttercream silk, lucky you to get it, if I’d seen it, I’d have bought some of it too! 🙂 I bet that’s one luscious jacket you made. And those buttons are too cute.

    You should post some pics of the completed jacket and your sewing room–be neat to see how it turned out. I don’t contribute very often to blogs, but I couldn’t resist commenting when I saw you’d been to the same sale. Thank you for sharing. Kate

  3. November 22, 2008 7:08 am

    Hi Kate, Thanks for stopping by my blog. I haven’t yet sewn up the jacket, but I do have the cutouts hung in my sewing loft. You can see them here: https://littlemis.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/progress-in-the-sewing-loftprogress-in-the-sewing-loft/

    I get to Seaside every April with my mom – it’s an annual visit we make and I hope that by this April, I’ll have sewn up that jacket or used some of that fabric. It’s such luscious fabric that I’ve been waiting until I hit my goal weight to sew anything up with it.

    Hope to see you around here again!

Comments are closed.

