Skip to content

Ohmygodohmygodohmygod!

April 21, 2007

I went shopping yesterday after work. I felt like a queen for two hours and walked out of Nordstroms (of all places) with almost an entire new wardrobe. I felt like I was in What Not to Wear with my own personal shopper bringing me all kinds of clothes to try on and three quarters of them I bought!

OH MY GOD. I’ve never spent so much money on clothes at one time in my life. Or maybe ever. I’m sure my women readers who have children fully understand how you can end up sacrificing your own clothes and comfort for the sake of your children. I’ve done that now for almost 26 years. I decided not so long ago that enough was enough. Time for me.

First, let me start by saying that Nordstroms is not normally where I shop, nor where I can typically afford to shop, and it goes without saying (although I’ll say it anyway) I’d rather sew my clothes than buy them. Usually Nordstrom clothes in my size are the frumpy, matronly screen printed top and elastic poly pants styles that even my mother at 87 doesn’t wear. However, this particular Nordies must have been listening to cries of women who wear 14W and up that we’re fed up with ugly duds. There isn’t one thing I bought that raised my daughter’s eyebrows – well, one sweater, but I LOVE it, so I don’t care. And what I bought FITS. With the exception of the pants, which with my swayback bubblebutt needed alterations and because I could, I paid to have them altered. (Okay, so that was a stupid waste of money, but I did it for the sake of time.)

I went there for these shoes and sadly, oh so very sadly, none of them fit.  I didn’t realize that patent leather doesn’t give much, and the toe box on those gorgeous Paolo shoes are just a bit too steep and too shallow for this woman’s crazy feet. But I told the salesman that I had to walk out of there with at least one new  pair of shoes. He worked diligently and unfortunately this pair is all I ended up with. But that’s okay. (That’s Miss Akira’s paw in the shot sniffing them out. She tells me they are lovely shoes.)

img_0123_sm.jpg

After the shoes, I started to browse the store in search of a couple more professional looking jackets or blazers, or even a suit, and anything else that screams business professional, but not stuffy formal. I figure I need to show up at work from now on truly living the Dress for Success theory that I have rebeliously stuck my tongue out at for too many years. (Surely my brains override what you think of my clothes, right? Not.) I ended up in the Encore department. (For those of you that know Nordies, this is where they have the sizes 14W and over. And the saleslady gently reminded me that the W stands for Woman, not Wide.)

I’ll post my photo shoot next of all the new duds, but right now I have to run. Busy day ahead (estimates from a painter, picking up a free rocker/glider and ottoman, and then shopping with Gaylen.) If you are ever in the Bellevue, Washington Nordstroms’ Encore Department, ask for Mary Smith (her real name.) She really knows her stuff.

Stay tuned if you want to live vicariously though my shopping extravaganza.

Ohmygodohmygodohmygod.

One Comment
  1. BjP permalink
    April 23, 2007 4:41 am

    I’d be in hog heaven if I could find that many clothes that fit me, too! Woo Hoo! Having someone helping you had to be fantastic. That’s the worst part of shopping by yourself – undress, try them on, re-dress, go back out and hunt some more, undress again…..bah.

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you came up with!

Comments are closed.

