Skip to content

Photo Shoot

April 23, 2007

I mentioned in my previous post about showing photos of all the clothes I just bought, and later thought that might be just a bit self-absorbed. Like, really, who cares besides me? Well, a couple of you are interested, so I’m posting them. I also thought this might be a good example of how to buy ready-to-wear clothing and then supplement the basics with what one can sew. I think most of us, at some point, have to buy ready-made clothes, no matter how much we love to sew, have time to sew, or how great we are at sewing. Once in a while we have to break down and buy something. Well, at least until we’ve made enough of our clothes to no longer need to supplement our wardrobes. Additionally, some of these clothes might benefit from some minor alterations or fitting adjustments, so if I do that, I’ll share that process as well. Hopefully it will be helpful to someone.

So, my dears, here is what I wore to my marathon three-hour interview this afternoon. (And, in case you’re wondering, the interview went very, very well from what I’m told, and I feel very positive about it. I’ll share that later, when I can.)

img_0221-adj_small.jpglittle

This is a coral colored genuine suede leather jacket by Anne Klein. The top is a printed knit (that is, it appears the design is screen printed on the knitted top, not in the yarn itself.) The trousers are the lined Jones New York trousers I bought in Seaside. I absolutely love this jacket. It makes me feel rich and elegant, and I think the color is fabulous. There aren’t many people that can wear orange shades, and thankfully, they look great on me. (I learned this in my early 20s when I had my “colors” done.)

(By the way, the rest of the images are taken of my dress form as the model, since I couldn’t get anyone to be the photographer the other day.) 

Next up is a combo tank top and overlay that goes nicely with some brown pants (same taupey brown as in the top – the darker color). They were separates, but mesh so well together. (This is an example of where I’d groan sadly for the lost Benjamins I spent on clothes because I could make these so much better.) The tank top goes with so many other pieces in my new wardrobe, you’ll see, but it doesn’t fit so well under the arms. I’ve not yet decided whether to return it and try a smaller size, or to just alter this, since it fits nicely around the hips. I’ll probably alter it.

img_0137_small.jpg

This linen top also goes nicely as an overjacket with the tank top and with either the brown or black pants.

img_0148_small.jpg

Here’s a cute little Michael Kors top that has a black cami under it.

img_0163_small.jpg

This black knit top is intended to hang lower across the hips and past the hem of jackets. Now that I have it, I can’t remember what I was going to wear it with. It will be nice in the summer with black pants.

img_0155_small.jpg

This coral tshirt is not much on the dress form but is a nice solid staple that now goes with much of my wardrobe.

img_0149_small.jpg

This top doesn’t look like much, or even very flattering, on the dressform, but it looks very cute on. It may need some taking in around the waist, but we’ll see.

img_0168_small.jpg

Look at the detail around the neckline.

img_0169_small.jpg

I absolutely love this sweater. This is the only thing I bought that raised my daughter’s eyebrows to question my sanity. But I love it, it makes me feel good, and it looks good, so isn’t that all that matters?

img_0171_small.jpg

And look at the sweet detail on the sleeves.

 img_0173_small.jpg

A cute pink top that looks startingly similar to a Khaliah Ali top I have in my pattern stash. I’m not 100% sold on it, but I’m told it looks cute on me. Notice the bodice darts though. I’m not sure what to do about it. Also, see how some of the tops I bought have the same flirty sleeve as the tops I’ve made? Cool, huh.

img_0175_small.jpg

This jacket I got in Seaside at the Jones New York store.

img_0184_small.jpg

Look at the closeup of this yummy, delicious fabric.

img_0185_small.jpg

Then, there’s this linen jacket. I’m ho-hum about it, and the button needs moving over just a smidge, but it’s kinda cute.

img_0142_small.jpg

And for the piece de resistance – this was a steal and on sale. I paid more for this jacket than I’ve ever paid for one item of clothing, but the detail and workmanship on it make it all worthwhile.

img_0156_small.jpg

You can’t see it in these pictures, but there are little self-fabric bows at the bottom of the pockets and on other strategic places. I think what makes this jacket more than the lovely fabric is the lining, but first, a closeup of the fabric.

img_0160_small.jpg

Now, look at the lining. This is a semi sheer crepe-type fabric. It’s very lightweight and the looseness of the weave of the main fabric combined with the lining make this jacket extremely soft and comfortable to wear, even on a warmer spring day – although time will tell for sure.

img_0161_small.jpg

So, that’s pretty much all of it, except for the pants, which are boring. Notice that all the colors I have chosen mix well with the fabrics I bought recently – black and white and earth tones, even the coral suede jacket seems to be mine by providence.

Thanks for letting me indulge and brag about my new clothes. Because, you know, the Empress must have new clothes.

6 Comments
  1. April 24, 2007 6:09 am

    what a great new wardrobe! the interview outfit is awesome. keeping my fingers crossed for the new job….

  2. April 24, 2007 5:07 pm

    Claire – your new wardrobe is great and a wonderful place to start sewing from…sometimes its easier to have some great RTW pieces to start with and move on from! I hope these pieces give you alot of confidence as you venture forth into interview land! I will be rooting for you!

  3. April 24, 2007 5:39 pm

    Thanks, ladies. They do give me confidence. Now if I can just find comfy and stylish shoes that don’t kill my feet.

  4. April 25, 2007 2:05 am

    Hi Clare,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and my what a small world it is! It is so wonderful to know that you lived in Woking. I can’t say I know the round about that you are talking about but then they have changed most of the round abouts into traffic light junctions and so much has changed in Woking. I came to live in Woking in 1980 and a lot has changed since then. I know Worplesdon area also. Perhaps one day you should return to Woking to visit when you are in the UK.
    Glad to know your interview went very well and wish you all the success. Love you new wardrobe.

  5. gaylen permalink
    April 25, 2007 6:11 am

    Well – I’m late to the party and we’ve already talked! I love the coral jacket, very rich looking and you look great wearing it! You skin glows – even at the end of a long day.

    The rest of the garments will give you a great place to jump from and starting sewing up all the new fabric you have recently purchased. You are required to make a minimum of 1 article of clothing for yourself for every doggie outfit made!! No excuses and no fudging. g

  6. April 28, 2007 7:06 am

    You have taste very similar to mine. I especially like the black knit top and the brown with aqua dots.

Comments are closed.

