Skip to content

So, leave already

May 2, 2007

“So you’re moving on?” asked my boss, the president.

“Yes, sir. I am”

“Well, my main concern is the intranet.”

Wow. I waited to hear “We’ll be sorry to see you go”, or “Best of luck in your future endeavors”, or some other socially accepted sentiment, whether it was genuine or not. It never passed his lips.

“So, you’re leaving?” a colleague asked.

“Yes, I am” I responded exuberantly, passionately.

“Gee, you really sound happy to be leaving.”

Is that a stupid remark, or what? Unless you are being fired or laid off, who isn’t happy to leave a job? Isn’t the idea that you are moving on to bigger and better things? More pay, better opportunities? So, what do people expect? Should I pretend I really don’t want to be leaving, that I wish they’d beg me on their hands and knees to stay? Good grief.

It occurred to me today during a staff meeting that part of me was hurt. Hurt by the callousness, uncouthness, and coldness of my boss that he couldn’t even barf up a nice statement to me, and that my hard work and devotion was unrecognized. Hurt that who I am was not appreciated there.

True to form though I don’t sit there in that feeling for long. I remembered that this man’s opinion of me is inconsequential. (And really, what am I looking for? Daddy to say I’m a good girl? No, no longer need that validation.)

Instead, I drove to my new work and turned in my signed offer letter, NDA (non-disclosure agreement), and other papers. I got to see my new boss – who, by the way, is a proponent of blogging! I got to see some of my new colleagues, and my friend, G, who works there already.

“So, you turned in your paperwork? Cool. Hey, meet L. She’s on our team” said my friend, smiling broadly.

“Hi there, nice to meet you. Wow, look at that view from that desk.”

“Oh, that’s your desk. We figure anyone who has to work onsite at a client’s deserves a great seat when she’s in the office.”

Now, there’s an antidote for hurt feelings and reassurance that you made the right decision, if there ever was one.

2 Comments
  1. May 2, 2007 6:29 pm

    Aarrgh! is my response to your current (soon to be former) work situation. How frustrating. All the more reason for you to move on to better things!

  2. May 3, 2007 12:19 am

    It’s wonderful, Claire. Congratulations on finding out exactly what was the best thing for you – and for getting it.

Comments are closed.

