Skip to content

Fresh Air and Sunshine

May 8, 2007

Is precisely what every soul needs for rejuvenation. Yesterday the weather gods looked over me and delivered their most fantastic Pacific Northwest weather. It was mild, up in the low 70s, and sunny, with a soft breeze in downtown Bellevue. I actually found myself wishing I’d finished up a couple of those new skirts I want. But I digress.

Here’s a picture of the outside garden area from my new office building. The picture is a bit blurry as I took it with my cell phone.

05-07-07_1319_sm.jpg

There’s a little cafe inside the building that serves very expensive salads, sandwiches, and soup, as well as Dilletante chocolate and espressos.

Here’s a pic of the building looking up from the courtyard.

05-07-07_1320_sm.jpg

This office will be what I call my “home base”. I’ll be on site at a client’s in SeattleĀ for about three months, but then back here.

I got through with my new hire orientation and stuff by about noon, and then took a short lunch break. After that, I met with my friend G and a (new to me) coworker and we had a brief meeting about web site content. Here’s the fresh air part. Instead of finding a stuffy conference room and planting our butts, we walked a block down the street to the local Starbucks (don’t you know there’s one on every corner?) and had our meeting there over lattes. Except for my feet in heels walking like that, I absolutely love the flexibility and the varied environments. (Next on the shopping list are comfy walking shoes that don’t look like nurse’s shoes or old octagenarian orthopedic shoes.)

Now my sewing list is going to be revised so I’ll make some new skirts first, as it appears the weather is starting to turn into summer. Dark lined pants and sunshine just don’t mix.

Now, off to my last day at the old job. And lunch with my coworkers to say goodbye. Only a couple people there were jerks. The rest of them were pretty awesome. It was the job itself that was no longer a fit.

More later!

3 Comments
  1. thesecretpocket permalink
    May 8, 2007 7:08 am

    What a lovely work environment. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. gaylen permalink
    May 8, 2007 8:55 am

    Wow! as for cute walking shoes, try Danscos, Clarks or I really like my Sofft – although I know you had some trouble with them. g

  3. BjP permalink
    May 8, 2007 5:31 pm

    Aren’t you the lucky one! All I get to see outside of my work building is a corn field. Well, that and a few deer, a badger or two, raccoons, and assorted hawks. Not that bad, actually, but you most certainly have a beautiful garden area to look at.

    Just how many stories is that building, anyway?

    Hopefully you can still keep in touch with your old workmates. I’ve always had good friends where I work and I would really miss them if I/they left.

Comments are closed.

