Skip to content

It’s only natural

May 9, 2007

Firing off ideas in my head is part of what I get paid to do. In fact, my first assignment (unrelated to a client) at my new job is to help with revamping the content on their website to better express what their specialty is, rather than a brain dump of absolutely everything they are highly skilled at.

So, it’s only natural that while firing off those ideas in my head, I’d get distracted from time to time with sewing ideas. Most prominently right now is my daughter’s need for maternity clothes. The prices that retail stores charge for a simple top is outrageous.  For example this one is $25 at Motherhood Maternity online.

motherhood_top.jpg

Excluding my time involved in sewing the top, certainly I could make it for less – well, all of us that sew know the drill and justifications. It’s just more fun. Period. And the top will be unique, just like the little mommy-to-be.

I want to make my daughter who is pregnant some maternity clothes. Tops are easy. She likes tops like Simplicity 3762 but I’d also like to try making her some cute capris for summer, since baby isn’t due until Fall.

Do any of my lovely readers have experience making maternity pants  or maternity clothes? How hard is it? I’m pretty fearless about trying new things, but is it time consuming? There are so many cute stretch twill fabrics out there that she would look absolutely darling in.  What are your favorite maternity patterns? I’d love to know your thoughts and recommendations.

Aside from that, I’m off to downtown Seattle and my “inspiration drive time”.

Happy Wednesday.

4 Comments
  1. May 9, 2007 11:15 am

    Sewing for a mummy-to-be is so special!
    The only challenge is finding the right fabric, and you seem to have taken care of that already 🙂 Otherwise, I have found maternity patterns to be just as straightforward as “normal” ones.

  2. May 9, 2007 11:21 am

    Psst: I posted on my blog why I so wanted that Call 5383 pattern. You might have been intrigued at the time 😉

  3. May 9, 2007 2:29 pm

    i made quite a bit of my maternity clothes. not much different than making regular clothes. with pants, the big question is “over” or “under” the belly for the waistband. i highly recommend using button hole elastic to make the waistband adjustable. i was bigger than a whale so i stuck mostly to dresses.

  4. Laura permalink
    May 10, 2007 6:12 am

    I made a lot of my maternity clothes when I was pregnant with my 2nd (came in handy a year later when I found out I was pregnant with # 3!!). I was a relatively new sewer but my projects turned out pretty well. I refused to pay $25.00 for a pair of pants (this was 22 years ago) so I made several pairs of capris. I kept costs down by buying ugly or worn out maternity pants at garage sales and 2nd hand stores for as low as 50 cents each and then ripped out the stretch panel to reuse on my clothes. Those panels are expensive! I made t-shirts out of coordinating knit fabrics for about $5.00 apiece. To take things further I made my own diapers too. I know it sounds crazy as I also had a full time job but I’m very frugal. I found a diaper pattern that used velcro as the closure. I also hung them out on the line to dry but no one has to go that far! I used them about 90% of the time. I took disposables with us when we went out. I saved a lot of money that way. Unfortunately I couldn’t use cloth diapers on my 3rd. She ended up with too many rashes and also, she stunk! Honestly, she smelled so sour with them that I just gave up. She’s 18 now and I’m sure she wouldn’t appreciate my sharing that little tid bit of information.
    Happy Sewing!!!!

Comments are closed.

