Skip to content

Fashion Friday

May 11, 2007

(Maybe this isn’t such a good idea for a recurring theme, but we’ll see. Mostly since I don’t consider myself a fashionista. Feel free to send me ideas if you are a lurking fashionsta yourself, and I’ll post them and give you credit.)

First thing I found when looking for “fashion” via Google was this Donna Ricci dress.

donnaricodress.jpg

Doesn’t it look amazingly just like this McCall 5314 in the short sleeves? (I think I have this pattern in my stash.)

m5314.jpg

It constantly amazes me how similar, if not exact, the store styles are to the patterns we find from the main pattern manufacturers (McCall, Butterick, Simplicity). Go to Nordstrom.com and check for Maggie London dresses. They look exactly like the Maggie London dresses you see in patterns. Like this one. (Butterick 4788)

B4788Β 

Looks like this one at Nordstrom. (Actually, I found some that are even closer than these two comparisons, but you get the drift.)

mlondon_5393578.jpg

Every time this happens to me – and it happens a lot –Β I am again grateful that not only do I know how to sew, but I can sew fairly well. Regardless of if I’m saving money sewing or not, it’s fun.

I noticed on Stacy Sews blog a cool feature that someday I may add to my site. She shows with each of her projects how much her project cost. For example, check out this newest fab, glam, knock ’em dead dress she just made. I’ll have to check with her just how she did that (the stats feature, not the dress) because not only is it nice to know for yourself, it’s also nice to show other sewing enthusiasts out there, or even those who are just curious.

Okay, time to get fashionable, or as fashionable as possible for a Friday and get to work.

6 Comments
  1. thesecretpocket permalink
    May 11, 2007 6:45 am

    I’ve screwed this up somehow, I hope I don’t end up posting this twice.

    I like your fashion post and I’d especially look forward to a fashion post from a not-quite-fashionista b/c I can relate to that perspective. I especially like links to patterns that reflect the current trends b/c I never get to browse the pattern catalogs.

    I made the Maggie London and I like it. Wore it twice already. On me the shoulder fits a little funny and I might end up removing the sleeve and leaving it sleeveless. I think the sleeve is not big enough for me. Of course, I didn’t make a muslin b/c I didn’t have stretch fabric for it. And I didnt’ even think to measure the sleeve b/c it’s usually not a problem for me.

    I also have Flintstone feet. But in my case there is no swelling..they are just naturally huge.

  2. May 11, 2007 7:45 am

    Oh yes, Claire, you do have that McCall pattern. That’s how I found your great blog in the first place! πŸ˜€ I have it too – we’ll have to make a sew-along or something! πŸ™‚

    I’m a bad, bad girl. I just caved in and ordered the couple of Hot Patterns I was drooling over for so long! (the Cosmopolitan Dress and the Cha-cha-cha dress).
    Ah well… I bought them with my American account (I still have some money from when I worked there, 3 years ago), so it doesn’t really count, does it? I see it as my pocket money – it won’t influence my real budget at all.
    Heck, why should I feel guilty? This is our passion, and it makes us happy!

    Have a great day! The weekend is almost there πŸ™‚

  3. gaylen permalink
    May 11, 2007 11:43 am

    I love your Fashion Fridays. I’m with Isabelle – I know you have that pattern! I have a similar one – I think a sew-along is exactly what we need and wouldn’t that dress be fabulous in that taupe & white swirl print you bought at Expo?

    I got you a cute/stupid little gift this morning at Staples! See you tomorrow for ASG – g

  4. May 11, 2007 7:12 pm

    Thanks ladies! I’ll keep with the Fashion Fridays. Dawn, in addition to Fred Flinstone feet, mine are extremely wide – always have been. Isabelle, I got your message asking about the Hot Patterns and they don’t seem to go on sale here. I’m glad you got one, otherwise, I was going to slip one in with your McCalls pattern I have yet to mail to you! Gaylen/Isabelle, a sew along sounds great. I think I’ll initiate that just as soon as I get settled into my work routine and can feel comfortable carving out my sewing time again. Seems this weekend is going to be absorbed by the DGDs dance recital and Mother’s Day.

  5. May 11, 2007 10:34 pm

    Aw, Claire, how SWEET and generous! πŸ™‚ I did order them though. Bad, bad me πŸ˜‰

    I’m all in for a sew-along, but I’m also all in for your not pressuring yourself unnecessarily, Claire. I totally agree that you need to make sure you’re found a new routine first. Take all the time you need. I’m sure Gaylen and I have plenty on our plates (or sewing tables) to keep us waiting πŸ˜€

  6. BjP permalink
    May 12, 2007 5:56 am

    Yep, keep the Fashion Friday comin’! I really enjoy what you post.

Comments are closed.

