Skip to content

The Wheels on the Bus Go Round and Round

May 14, 2007

This bus thing might be the way to go. Seattle is not known for its great rapid transit system. There are certainly many cities across the US that have a better integrated transit system than we do. However, it got me from point A to point B just fine today, so I’m not complaining.

My daughter was up this morning when it was time for me to leave, so I got her to drive me up the hill to the bus stop. I wasn’t sure I was quite up to walking up the hill and getting there on time. In the morning, my stop is the first on the route, so that’s very cool. I get my choice of seats. Once in Seattle, the bus stop where I get off is just a block away from my office.

Coming home, I wasn’t quite sure where the bus stop was but I knew it was fairly close. It, again, was only a block away, or just over a block. I just missed the one I was going for and had to wait 40 minutes for the next one (as it was running late.) And the bus was packed this time, so no choice of seats.

But I have to commend that bus driver. One rider was just rude when the driver almost missed stopping for someone. When it was time for me to get off, there was just me and one other rider, and he took us all the way to the bottom of the hill instead of making us walk an extra couple blocks. Plus, for another regular rider of his, he stopped in between stops so the person didn’t have to walk quite so far. Wow. I was impressed.

I guess I’ll be doing this again tomorrow.

Comments are closed.

