Skip to content

It’s My Birthday Today!

May 15, 2007

bdaycard_sm.jpg

“Dear Mom, I grew a fro and joined a Funk Band.”

bdaycard_inside_sm.jpg

“We all did! Happy Birthday, Mommie. Love, Stacy, Lily, Maxie, Marie, Kiki, Mermer, Trixie, and Daisy.”

How hilarious is this card? Stacy is my daughter, and Lily, Trixie, and Daisy are the new pups. The rest are the cats.

I had to go to work today and all day long I was dying to tell people it was my birthday, but I don’t know these folks and I didn’t really want a fuss made over me. So, how weird is it that I come home and post it on my blog for the entire world to see? Seems a little strange, that’s all.

~~~~~~

Two days ago it was 42 degrees out at this time of evening. Now it’s 86 degrees. What gives? I sure know that I’ll either lose weight rapidly this summer walking home from the bus in this kind of heat, or I’m going to die of exhaustion. How do people do this every day, day in, day out, for years? I must be a spoiled rotten suburban brat. I sure have a deeper appreciation for those that ride public transportation as a necessity, not out of choice.

I’ll have to figure out a different wardrobe for the summer. Like cool skirts and Spanx for under them. And cool, breathable short sleeve tops. I know I’ve got plenty of fabric and patterns to make all of these. I just need to get cracking. Here I thought summer would be a ways off still, and wham! it’s here. Apparently. At least for today.

13 Comments
  1. May 15, 2007 5:22 pm

    very cool…..it’s my birthday today too! hope you had a good one. mine was a bit quiet, but good.

    teri

  2. May 15, 2007 5:41 pm

    Happy Birthday, Teri – I’ve never known anyone with the same birthday as me. How very cool. And how very appropriate that we both sew. Must be a Taurus thing.

  3. May 15, 2007 9:43 pm

    Happy Birthday! Sunshine and warmth – what a great birthday present.

  4. May 15, 2007 10:18 pm

    Happy, happy birthday Claire! A couple of hours late, I’m afraid. Yesterday was a bit… well. Happy birthday! 🙂
    And yeah for Tauri. 😀

  5. thesecretpocket permalink
    May 16, 2007 4:13 am

    Happy Birthday, Claire!!! That’s not you in the photo, is it? When that popped up in my reader I literally jumped in my seat here!

    Happy Birthday Teri!

    p.s. I am really into skirts lately. They are cool, and they make you feel feminine and pretty.

  6. BjP permalink
    May 16, 2007 4:29 am

    I’m late to the party, so a belated Happy Birthday! Here’s wishing you a very good year full of happiness!

  7. May 16, 2007 5:06 am

    Too funny! and a belated happy birthday wish to you, hope your day was a good one.

    ~lisa

  8. May 16, 2007 5:16 am

    Happy Birthday – a day late :(. Hope you had a great day! g

  9. May 16, 2007 6:30 am

    Happy (belated) Birthday!!!!

  10. May 16, 2007 7:41 am

    Thanks, everyone! It was a good day, and the sun was out, which always makes it a good day. Unlike today in Seattle. It’s currently chilly and overcast downtown. Ugh.

  11. May 16, 2007 9:03 am

    Happy belated b’day!

  12. May 19, 2007 10:29 am

    Oh Claire, I am so sorry I missed your birthday! Happy belated birthday! I am sooooo glad that you had a wonderful time and family to share it with you!

  13. Lisa permalink
    May 16, 2008 11:13 am

    omg!may 16 is my birthday too!your like the 4th person ive met that has the same birthday as me!happy birthday!go taruses! 😀

Comments are closed.

