Skip to content

Covert Fashion Police

May 16, 2007

Do you ever secretly steal glances at other people and evaluate their sense of fashion – either they have one or they don’t? Do you look at clothes and wonder how it was constructed? Do you look at body shapes and the clothes they are supporting and question or admire the fit?

Well I do – and more. Riding the bus has given me an opportunity to really watch people. Today the standout was Rainbow Brite. A very pretty young girl who had died her hair fuschia pink, was wearing a striped shirt in the colors of Rainbow Brite, and then she had these ripped up nylons that looked like Spiderman’s web covering nice shapely legs. (Seattle is full of characters like this – she just happened to pass by me at the bus stop.)

Her attire is neither good nor bad, and that’s not the point of my comments. She just stood out in my mind. She had her own personal sense of fashion, and I think that is good whether it fits with the norm of what society calls fashion or not.

There was also the Dapper Gentleman that shared the elevator ride down with me today. He wore a hat that matched his suit, something similar to a 1940’s Fedora. His hat was what first caught my attention, because the areas where I wander, I rarely see a man wearing a hat. I quite like seeing it, though. Same with women’s hats. But I digress. His suit color was a caramel-gold with cream pinstripe. I’ve never seen a suit like it. And the hat color perfectly matched the suit. In fact, it was a bit too matchy-matchy. Again, though, it was his fashion style, and I overheard him say to someone else that his clothes closet was bigger than his wife’s.

There was the young woman in the conference room today that had a beautiful floral skirt and matching pale chartreuse green shoes. She looked great. I looked at her skirt and wondered if she had made it or not. The style reminded me of a pattern I’m sure I have in my stash or that I’ve seen in one of the Simplicity, Butterick, or McCalls catalogs. I was briefly distracted from the contents of the meeting by searching for the pattern in my mind.

In short, sometimes I obsess on sewing, clothes, style, and construction.

Do you? What do you notice? What do you judge, approve of, or wish you had for yourself?

4 Comments
  1. thesecretpocket permalink
    May 17, 2007 3:59 am

    I am always noticing other peoples’ dress. Sometimes I’ll mentally change their shoes or add a jacket. In church I find myself, too often, analyzing the construction of the clothes of the people in the pews in front of me. Plaids that do or don’t match up. Sleeves that aren’t eased in quite right. Shoulders that don’t fit the person right. I have to say that many people seem fairly clueless about clothing and fit.

  2. May 17, 2007 7:34 am

    Hee hee…my secret is out! I love people watching, it is some of the best free entertainment out there. I have to agree with SecretPocket in that people are quite clueless about fit of clothing and really do not understand some basics of tailoring in that they either purchase to fit waist (leads to too tight/big elsewhere) or they purchase to hips (leads to big gap ine waist fit). The plaids not matching up is one of those that stand out if I am close enough. Also, I most often want to change color and accessories – different shoes, purse, hose to really make the outfit stand out. Some people do not wear the right color for their skin and the wrong silhouettes for their shape. Thank goodness for shades while I continue watching! 🙂

  3. May 18, 2007 10:26 am

    so nice to know i am not alone in this. hubski thinks i am bit of a loon to worry so much about what other people are wearing. i am always looking at what works and doesn’t work on other people. i look at clothes and wonder how that interesting pleat was made. i try to figure out fabric content. i try to figure out what alterations would make it fit better. i so want to be stacy london on “what not to wear.” it would too much fun and the right clothes can make such a difference.

  4. May 19, 2007 7:10 am

    I always notice what the newscasters are wearing on our local show. Now, you only see the very top quarter, but you can certainly notice a well made, perfect fitting jacket to something that shouldn’t be worn on TV. This doesn’t just apply to the women but to the men as well. As for watching people while out in public, that’s one of my favorite pass-times and it’s a rarity to see someone put together with finesse. When I do, I try not to stare, but it can be so difficult ;-o

Comments are closed.

