Skip to content

New Books

May 23, 2007

I forgot what my sewing room looks like. I – hopefully – will have a free weekend coming up next so that I can get back into the swing of things. Until then, and since I’ve finished “Naked Conversations” (book report to follow soon), I bought a couple more books to read on the bus. (I’m a closet bibliophile, in case you hadn’t noticed.)

First, “The Cluetrain Manifesto” by Rick Levine, Christopher Locke, Doc Searls, and David Weinberger. Recommended by the authors of Naked Conversations (Robert Scoble and Shel Israel), this book is about how to blog and the changing nature of online communications, versus Naked Conversations being about why to blog with a little how sprinkled in.

I post about this here on my blog, which is primarily about sewing, because communications is my passion as well. And isn’t life all about communicating? Particularly these days, online. And I figure you’re interested in some of it as well, since you’re reading blogs, and many of my readers have their own blogs. So, there you go.

Next, while I was at the bookstore, I saw piles and piles of Tim Gunn’s book, “A Guide to Quality, Taste & Style”.  Now, as an editor, I already see one issue with the title. No serial comma – that is, no comma after Taste. I’d definitely put one there. Kinda like the deliberately missing comma in the title of the book “Eats, Shoots and Leaves”.

Sorry, I digress.

Anyway, since some of my favorite sewing enthusiasts have bought this book, figured I’d check it out as well. It was $17.95 at the University Bookstore at the University of Washington, so figured it would be a worthwhile investment. Plus it had a cool little sticker that said “Autographed for University Book Store” – but that’s just a sales gimmick, because it’s a printed autograph. Bummer.

I’m excited to get started reading. Hmmm. Which one first? Wonder if I can read them both simultaneously? (Kidding.) I’ll start with The Cluetrain Manifesto since I have a work assignment to lead my unit in the blogging initiative. How cool is that?

3 Comments
  1. thesecretpocket permalink
    May 24, 2007 7:53 am

    Hi Claire,

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of Cluetrain. I’ve had it with blog books for awhile.

    I’m no grammar expert, but I thought that you were not *supposed* to put a comma before the “and” in a list, though I always do, b/c when you *say* it, it makes more sense with the comma.

    Did you have a former life as an English teacher?

  2. May 24, 2007 10:53 am

    Nope, I’m not an English teacher, just a communicator (writer, editor, and my best subjects in school were English lit, grammar, spelling, etc.)

    I’m a fan of the “serial comma”. It clarifies things, and if you were typing a list in bullets, you’d break out the components, so it makes sense that you put a comma there. Otherwise, exclusion of the comma could also lead to confusion.

    I believe the Associated Press style is to exclude the last comma, and that drives me nuts. (Although I don’t have my AP style guide in front of me to confirm that.)

    Clear as mud now, I’m sure. 🙂

  3. BjP permalink
    May 24, 2007 2:40 pm

    I always preferred the serial comma and was taught that way in school. However, the college where I work does NOT use the serial comma and now I am so used to it that it seems the “right” way. Changing times, I guess!

Comments are closed.

