Skip to content

Rainy Days and Sundays

May 27, 2007

Oh, right. The song says Mondays. But it’s raining and today is Sunday, so it fits.

My oldest daughter, my grandson, and I got a lot done yesterday. We bought flowers and pavers. We moved dirt, plants, and set some pavers into the ground. We’re not even done yet. We ended up going to Lowe’s twice because we miscalculated how much stuff we would need to do the pavers. Then, today we went back again to get more stuff. Hey, I never said I was a mathematician.

But the front yard is starting to look nice again.

img_0798_sm.jpg

I chose perennials that hopefully will be very low maintenance. See those bushes at the back of the flower bed? They are azaleas. I’ve never seen any like that. They have a double flower and the leaves by themselves are gorgeous. Best thing yet, they were only $10 a plant. So I bought five. I removed the Barberry plants that were there (very thorny, although pretty) and moved the Barberry over to be a border between my yard and Crazy Lady neighbor’s yard.

We moved some other plants that were in the flower bed and they are in temporary pots until their new home is ready. Here’s a shot of the paver area we’re working on.

img_0797_sm.jpg

We’re probably doing it all wrong, but it’s going to look nice when it’s all done. Plus, it will save my shoes and sanity when I get in and out of my car as I won’t have to walk in icky grass or dirt and ruin my heels. The builders made the drives so narrow that two cars parked in the driveway means you step out of the car into the yard or flowerbeds. But, hey, at least I have a house, and I can redo the landscaping. In fact, we like these pavers so much we might put them in a large area of the backyard. If we do, though, I’m hiring a landscaper to get the yard ready.

My back is now killing me today though, because of all the bending over and lifting of bags of paver base, sand, and topsoil. I worked hard to use all the right muscles, but as soon as I stopped and sat down, my whole back stiffened up. Oh well.

Since it’s raining, and my whole day is now shot (what happened? It’s 5 pm already!) I’ll go putz around in my sewing room for a bit and start getting back into the swing of things. My mom’s giving me a guilt trip for not hemming her jeans. Gee, I don’t blame her. It’s only been since April that I’ve had them. 😦 Bad daughter.

Hope everyone is having a nice Memorial Day weekend (here in the US) and relaxing somehow. I wish it would quit raining, that’s for sure.

One Comment
  1. May 27, 2007 7:23 pm

    Your plantings look great! And so does the paver area. It’s hard work, I know, but you’ll love it. Enjoyed your blog. Thanks.

Comments are closed.

