Skip to content

Is it summer yet?

May 28, 2007

Today was close to it. Still a bit cool in the shade, but my grandson woke up this morning and pointed to my face in the messenger icon and said he wanted to “Doh” (pronounced dough – his word for go”) see Nana. Warms my heart to no end.

Since we were rained out from finishing the front yard yesterday, the kids came back up today and helped me finish it.

Here’s my handsome son-in-law working so hard at getting the pavers even and level.

img_0844_sm.jpg 

Those large ones are heavy. And the area they were working on was a fairly steep hill, so it was hard to keep the stones from sliding down as they were installed. We used an edger for pavers at the bottom, so over time, they still won’t slide.

Here’s the end result after a total of four trips to Lowes:

img_0846_sm.jpg

Soon, I’ll be mowing that grass very short, and dumping a fresh layer of topsoil on it, then seeding it for a nice new lawn. I placed fresh topsoil on all the flower beds, and even mulched everything. (Oh, my aching back, but so worth it.)

And I added a touch of whimsy to the garden as well. Near this will be a special hummingbird feeder I bought just for my grandkids’ benefit.

img_0848_sm.jpg

I can’t tell you how much it means to me to finally be getting the front yard the way I want it. That path that we just paved is where I step out of the car every day, and fairly steep. Now it will be nice and clean and not muddy, and I won’t slip and fall anytime soon. Plus, I’ve felt like the trashy neighbor that should have a couple freezers and five tvs stacked on my front porch. It’s been so hard for me to maintain this yard myself, and after my back started getting bad, I just couldn’t keep it up. So it meant a lot to finally have the help – and the money – to get the job done.

Doesn’t look though like I’ll be sewing any time soon, even though there is some fabric on my table calling to me every morning as I pass by. I have to start getting the inside of the house cleared out so that the flooring guys can come in and install my new hardwood floors. I can’t wait! I’ve owned this home for six years, and I’ve been the only owner, but since it was my first home (not a condo) I chose poorly for the flooring choices. Dirt and grass tracked in, plus a busy family and pets, is not conducive to a cream colored carpet. I’ve chosen a pretty Brazillian Cherry solid hardwood and it will be installed throughout my entire house – except for kitchen and full bathrooms. The powder room will have hardwood since it’s so small and right off the main hallway.

And of course, my sewing loft will need to be packed up so that they can put the hardwood in there as well. Oh, my, I can’t wait. Hopefully everything can be done by July 4th and I can have a barbeque/party, otherwise, I’ll plan for labor day.

Oh, and we’re going to do the same patio pavers on the other side of the drive, and a path through to the back, as well as about half of the back yard. The plan is to have a solid, washable (as in pressure-wash or hose) surface where we can have comfy chairs and one of those cool fire pits — and eventually a hot tub. Yeah, baby.

Now off to rest, and back to work tomorrow. Hope everyone had a relaxing and productive weekend.

3 Comments
  1. May 29, 2007 1:29 am

    Congratulations on that hard work! You garden looks like a little haven of peace. Have a good week, my friend! 🙂

  2. BjP permalink
    May 29, 2007 4:45 am

    I could feel your excitement throughout this entry! Everyone’s efforts turned out so well. Your yard looks lovely and am sure you will enjoy it.

    You might enjoy a couple of other bird feeders, too. I dunno, maybe I’m getting old (hee), but we really are enjoying ours that are set up outside the kitchen window and attracting so many different kinds of birds.

    Yay for wood flooring. I’m actually tired of carpeting and would prefer the wood all over the house, too.

  3. gaylen permalink
    May 29, 2007 2:05 pm

    Your hard work looks great! Good Job! When is the floor being installed?

Comments are closed.

