Skip to content

So there!

May 31, 2007

I wore a skirt today. Like my readers pointed out, I’m comfortable, so who cares? Why do I get so caught up in what other’s think and how they perceive me? Is it because society has programmed us to care what people think about what we wear? All the What Not to Wear shows have given me an inferiority complex.  I’ve always dressed nicely, people always tell me I look nice, even when I think I look like a scrub.

So, I put on my pretty black and white skirt that I made last summer. (Wish I had a pic handy for you, but I’m at work.) And guess what? The waistband is way too large. That means I’ve lost weight around my waist. Yay.

So, being encouraged with that, and considering that Gaylen has challenged me to walk 10,000 steps a day starting tomorrow, I figured I’d start now. I got off the bus two stops early today. Actually, it didn’t save me any time because the bus passed me just as I got to my normal stop, but I walked about three or four extra blocks. Some uphill, and then some downhill. It was nice for an early summer morning in Seattle.

Something I noticed however. The saying is that there is a Starbucks on every corner in Seattle. Not exactly true, but for every Starbucks I notice there seems to be a Bank of America. Weird. I wonder if they are in cohoots. (Kidding.)

Tomorrow, I’m bringing my camera to take some early morning photos, like I saw some handsome dude doing this morning. Gee, I should have gone up and said hi. Well, baby steps and all, you know?

Have a great day. I’m off to find a Starbucks and get a quad grande, split (half decaf), 2%, no foam latte. Yum.

4 Comments
  1. May 31, 2007 7:30 am

    Yippee!!! Good for you!

    At some point we women have to take matters into our own hands and stop letting the media brainwash us into thinking we’re not good enough. The heck with them! (wanted to say something else, but this is a family blog, right?)

  2. May 31, 2007 7:30 am

    P.S. I have a skirt on today too.

  3. gaylen permalink
    May 31, 2007 8:39 am

    Good for you! I got a pedometer this morning so I could try it out today. So far, still in the package. I’m wearing a skirt today too! My black & white graphic one with one of my new white tee and the jewelry I got in Arizona. I will put my tennies on and get outside at lunch (even if I have to hurt an attorney or two to do so!!!) g

    P.S. – you can always come sew at my house ya know!

  4. May 31, 2007 10:35 am

    Hi there! I don’t know if I have ever commented on your blog before but I have been reading it for a while, and I am soglad to here that you wore a skirt! I know you have been talking about it. Now you will have to make some more! I saw on fabric.com that they had the new Favorite Things patterns in, theres one that I would like to try called “Hip Skirts.” Anyway Happy Sewing!

Comments are closed.

