Skip to content

Stoic? Yup, that’s me.

May 31, 2007

Main Entry: 2stoic
Variant(s): or sto·i·cal /-i-k&l/
Function: adjective
2 : not affected by or showing passion or feeling; especially : firmly restraining response to pain or distress <a stoic indifference to cold>

I have complained too much already about my pitting edema, and you have given me some lovely responses and encouragement. Thank you!

So, as I posted earlier, I enjoyed wearing a skirt today. This was a skirt I made last fall in a black and white silky print from Joanns. Here’s the review of a previous version of the same skirt. When I made the first skirt, as soon as I wore it for a day, and sat down, the seams split apart. The fabric simply frayed out from the seam. So, since I thought it was a cute pattern and I liked how I looked in it, I made it again with different fabric.

 img_7631_sm.jpg

This time, I interfaced the skirt upper half with a knit interfacing (so it would be soft, not stiff, just strengthened and reinforced.) I serge-stitched the seams, including the interfacing, and figured it would be just fine. It was – sort of. Until today. There’s just not enough ease in this pattern around the hips for me. I wanted it fitted around the hips, but when I sit… well, you can imagine.

This afternoon on the bus ride home is when it was brought to my attention. The skirt split – not in the front where I saw it starting to split and where I could cover it up with my top, but on the side of my hip. And I wasn’t wearing a slip, just my Spanx. I had moved my bag off the bus seat and onto my lap, and then a nice lady moved her seat and sat next to me. I thought she just wanted to sit there until she whispered in my ear that my skirt was torn. OMIGOD. How embarassing. A nice three inch split right on the hip. And my first thought was, how long had that been that way? I’d been in a meeting all day, and had been standing at the bus stop. Gawd, my mind raced with the awful scenarios.

That, on top of the pain of my pitting edema in my legs and feet, almost pushed me over the edge to tears.

So, I just pretended to sleep on the bus instead.

Thank goodness, tomorrow I can start over.

13 Comments
  1. June 1, 2007 12:49 am

    OH no!!! That is so frustrating and I can understand how you must have felt. That is a great, great pity, because you look absolutely gorgeous in that picture. Did you make the top, too? Wow, pink suits you SO WELL! You are radiant and beautiful.

    I do hope the seam split in the bus that was taking you home, not earlier; but come to think of it, you would probably have noticed it had happened before, right? You would have felt on walking that the skirt wasn’t hanging quite right. Don’t worry about it too much.

    What a shame though… That lovely skirt that becomes you so well…

  2. June 1, 2007 4:04 am

    Oh my goodness! How strange that that should happen again. It doesn’t look tight. What kind of fabric is it?

    In any case, it does look fantastic on you in the photo! I like it with the top you chose too. I hope it wont’ discourage you from wearing a skirt again b/c it’s really very flattering!

  3. June 1, 2007 4:06 am

    I did something funky so I hope this comment doesn’t appear twice…

    It’s strange that this happened b/c the skirt doesn’t look tight at all. It must be the fabric. I have had some fabrics that just give away at seams for “no” reason.

    It does look fantastic on you in the photo. Perfect colors and perfect with the pink top. so I hope it won’t discourage you from wearing skirts again….it’s very flattering!

  4. June 1, 2007 5:07 am

    Oh no, this is a shame because that outfit looks so great on you!! I agree with Dawn that it doesn’t look too tight and am wondering about the fabric too. That’s a really cute pic of you and you don’t look like you’ve had a bad day at all.

  5. Linda in TN permalink
    June 1, 2007 6:16 am

    Claire: I have so enjoyed your blog and look forward to each new entry. WRT your splitting skirt issue, I’ve found that if I want something fairly tight through the tummy, I need to take the measurement while sitting. When you have any fluff at all, it is simply amazing at the difference between standing and sitting measurements of the tummy and hips. I almost believe part of the thighs move to the tummy when you sit down!

    It took me a long time to get over the shock in the larger number, but at least I can comfortably sit in skirts without having a panic attack wondering exactly when and where it will split. HTH.

  6. June 1, 2007 6:40 am

    I’m sorry to hear of your split skirt – it does look so cute on you!

  7. June 1, 2007 7:00 am

    I am chiming in with commiseration about the skirt also! So sorry to hear that it happened. When you got home did you look at the fabric to see if why it separated? I would love to know what happened. Glad you realize that as Scarlett would say, “Tomorrow is another day!”

  8. June 1, 2007 9:00 am

    I’ll take pictures and post. It’s odd because the skirt material shredded, but not the underlying interfacing. Perhaps I used the wrong interfacing. Again, I’ll post and look forward to insight from others.

  9. Gaylen permalink
    June 1, 2007 9:29 am

    Claire – I can’t believe that happened! Cheap JoAnn’s Fabric!!! I have to agree with everyone else – the skirt doesn’t look too tight. I will mention that 4 thread overlocks are not mean for construction on woven fabrics (just a tidbit I learned when working for the dealer) too much give in the seam.

    Anyway, sounds like you handled the situation with as much grace as possible. the skirt looks fabulous – is it salvagable? Maybe remade into something else? g

  10. June 1, 2007 9:39 pm

    I think I’ll try to salvage the skirt by tearing it apart and using the non-interfaced sections as trim to something else. Possibly creating a bias trim to a skirt, or to a top. I’ll be creative because I really like the pattern of the fabric.

  11. June 3, 2007 12:11 pm

    how kind of that lady on the bus to try and help you. many people would have just looked the other way, letting you parade all over town with your spanx showing.

  12. June 3, 2007 1:04 pm

    Oh gosh! How odd to have the skirt split again! And how kind of that lady to let you know about it. Once, I had a lovely long flowing skirt that I tucked into the back of my pantyhose (not on purpose!) and then paraded through the entire campus and no one told me…it was so long ago that now its funny, but I was horrified at the time. You handled the situation very well.

    The skirt sure looks good on you in the photo! Hopefully you can find a solution.

  13. June 6, 2007 9:02 am

    Claire,

    I have had a similar experience wtih the Loes Hinse Tango skirt that has a similar shape to your skirt. What I finally did to fix the issue was to double stitch the vertical seams with a plain straight seam on my sewing machine. (You could also top stitch the seams for additonal stability). Then I serged the seams next to the straight seam. I also created a lining for the skirt (separate a-line skirt only attached at the waist) to give the skirt more stability. What if you added an additional 1 inch of ease to the overall hip area of the skirt?

    One additional problem I had was that initially the lining was a little too long and polked out beneath the skirt when I sat down. I was able to fix this problem by shortening the lining.

Comments are closed.

