Skip to content

Sunday Summer Sunshine

June 3, 2007

Some early summer color for you this lovely Sunday.

 img_0893_1.jpg 

My roses are blooming quite nicely in spite of my neglect of them. This one is one of my oldest roses, called Gold Medal. It’s the hardiest, most disease resistant rose and extremely fragrant. When the bud is fully opened (there’s a word for that, and I can’t remember it right now), the edges turn a lovely coral pink.

I had a scare while photographing this rose. I had my little Lily out in the yard with me and I hyperfocused on my camera and its settings. I turned around and Lily was nowhere to be seen or heard. Oh my gosh, I was in a total panic. I searched everywhere calling for her, thinking she had snuck out under the gate and taken off. Thank goodness she has a tag, but she’s so small I had horrible visions of her being hit by a car. We’ve had the weekend alone and have bonded so well that I think I would have been completely crushed had anything happened to her.

I looked and looked, and came back in the yard and here the stinker comes out of nowhere like, “What, mom?”

How can you get mad at this little face?

img_0873_1.jpg

Have a great Sunday, everyone. I’m off to the mall to buy my son-in-law a new Seahawks hat as a combo early Father’s day gift / thank-you-for-helping-me-in-the-yard gift. Then we’re all coming back here and the little tykes are going to play in the sprinkler.

Yay for summer!

3 Comments
  1. June 3, 2007 1:05 pm

    They are more work than a little child at times, aren’t they? but she sure is adorable! and the photo of the rose is beautiful.

  2. laura permalink
    June 4, 2007 7:38 am

    Something must be in the air. My cat ‘The Beast’ (her actual name is Blossom, but Beast says it all) executed her escape plan Saturday night while I was working (In addition to my full time job I’m also a waitresss). Her new passion is my small deck. I thought I had it blockaded in such a way that she wouldn’t be able to escape but once again I underestimated her. My boyfriend assured me that he’d keep and eye on her but I have a feeling that internet poker got in the way. He was suspiciously out of breath when I called around 10:30 pm to tell him I was on my way home, and he had to fess up that The Beast had somehow slipped away, but he had just at that second found her. The poor man had all the outdoor lights on including the flood lights and when he still couldn’t find her he drove his car into my back yard in an attempt to use his headlights. When he put his car in reverse his back up lights showed a set of gloating, glowing Beast eyes sitting right beside my house in a place he had already looked. He may have been shaken (He’s a big 270 pound German and was terrified of what I might do to him if something happed to my cat!!) but The Beast was very blase about the whole thing.

  3. Pearl permalink
    June 4, 2007 12:32 pm

    What a beautiful rose! I’m a couple hours north of you (Vancouver), so our conditions are similar – does it ever get black spot?

Comments are closed.

