Skip to content

Deal or no deal?

June 5, 2007

I made a deal with my daughter that we would not bring any more stuff into the house until after the new floors are in and we’ve sorted through the clutter. She agreed to it.

But do you suppose that applies to fabric? I saw this skirt that Debbie Cook made and she said where to get the fabric (Lucy’s Fabrics) and I just have to have some. I haven’t even made up the stuff I bought in Seaside in April and it’s all laying out on my table ready to go. Now I have to pack most of it up so that the furniture can be easily moved out of the way for the floor installers.

I made the rule, I guess I can bend it, right? Besides, it’s fabric!

I’m also encouraged by the comments to go ahead and try making pants. Years ago, in my mid-twenties when my body was easy to fit, I made pants for myself. It was very easy, of course, because there weren’t any extra curves to have to fit the fabric over and around. But I think it’s worth the challenge. I’ll get there. It will just take time.

I know…I can use up some fabric from my stash practicing with pant muslins and that will clear up the space for the Lucy’s fabrics that I can’t live without. Deal? or no deal?

I say “Deal”.

5 Comments
  1. June 5, 2007 8:59 pm

    Deal! But hurry up … I bet that fabric will go fast. 😉

  2. June 5, 2007 9:12 pm

    I say “Deal”. I just finished up a series of pants fitting muslins and I’m so happy I did, no matter how much I am no longer 20!

  3. June 6, 2007 3:00 am

    but fabric really isn’t “stuff.” fabric is used for making other stuff. it is a “supply,” sort of like flour is an ingredient. if you had bought a skirt already made up, that would be stuff….and clearly against the rules. you are gathering the things you need to make more stuff, but it is not “stuff” yet. new fabric, especially pretty fabric is totally permissible. 🙂

    teri…who can rationalize with the best of them

  4. June 6, 2007 5:55 am

    I have to agree with Teri – it’s not stuff, it’s an ingredient. Are you not buying groceries until this is over? That’s what I thought – so deal! g

  5. June 6, 2007 7:33 am

    Teri – I love your rationale! Debbie – I hurried up and bought it! YEAH.

Comments are closed.

